Notices

Step-by-step instructions for outside door handle replacement

Old 11-26-2011, 09:05 AM
tighefighter

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Step-by-step instructions for outside door handle replacement

Dear Readers,

I am a newbie to this forum, but have found some important information.
My outside door handle broke and I became tired of using my key fob to roll down my windows to open the door from the inside. Although the part (new door handle) was not that expensive, I knew the labor would be.

First of all, don't fret, You don't need to take off the inside door panel!!!

The tools you will need include:
1. 11mm socket (long socket or smaller socket w/ extension)
2. Philips screwdriver
3. Flat head screwdriver

1. To get started, first remove the rubber grommets, there are two of them on the inside of the door

2.IMPORTANT---(sorry about the Capital letters, not yelling, just trying to have your attention)- Find two pieces of cardboard (not box cardboard, but not construction paper either--Something in between will work well). Tear about a 1 inch strip and insert it into the holes of where you took out the grommets. What you are trying to accomplish is forming a catch, when your remove the bolts, You do not want these bolts to fall to the bottom of your door! These half circle pieces of cardboard will catch the removed bolt.

3. Carefully remove the upper and lower bolt and set aside

4. You can now remove the handle, but you cannot remove it all the way because it is still attached to the lock assembly.

5. Slide and push out the door handle (part way) it will not come out all the way. Look for broken pieces that might fall down the door. My handle had broke in two. My point is that you need that curved piece of thick strong wire (like a super strong "hanger" wire)

6. There is a bolt holding the key/lock assembly to the handle and can be removed with a socket wrench or screwdriver. I recommend the screwdriver because you have more control.