Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Track Questions

Old 01-28-2015, 09:25 PM
Alexia75

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Track Questions

Hi!

I'm totally new to the forum and have had my '07 roadster for a few months now.

Sadly, it's an automatic and I'm sure many will immediately say' girls car' but whatever.... i am a girl and besides, it was way, way too good a deal to pass up and much cheaper than a manual! Won't lie though, i wish it was a 6 speed!

I have no experience with high performanc driving but reallywant to learn. So i am getting myself the best valentine's day gift any girl could want...a track day!

So will it be safe, you know, mechanically to take this old fairlady on the track? Is it likely I'd damage or break something? Is it better or safe to manually shift or just let the auto slush box do its thing?

She's got 107k, auto transmission, and seems to be in good shape. I've done regular oil changes put in a new drop top, brake job, have tires with about 70% tread, and i did a fluid flush.

I've been reading about the 370z's and come across kind of scary stories about these cars on track days running very hot, overheating, losing power, and failing brakes.

so what's the real story? Is it safe to take my car to the track? Suggestions?

I just want to learn to get my car drifting and flying sideways like Chris Harris and Dai, the drift champ.

Last edited by Alexia75; 01-28-2015 at 09:29 PM.
Old 01-28-2015, 10:03 PM
superlim9

Received 194 Likes on 114 Posts

Originally Posted by Alexia75
Hi!

Sadly, it's an automatic and I'm sure many will immediately say' girls car' but whatever.... i am a girl and besides, it was way, way too good a deal to pass up and much cheaper than a manual! Won't lie though, i wish it was a 6 speed!

I have no experience with high performanc driving but reallywant to learn. So i am getting myself the best valentine's day gift any girl could want...a track day!