Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Measured 350z front suspension Anti-Ackerman, Scrub Radius...you may not like

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 02:41 PM
kazx9r

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Measured 350z front suspension Anti-Ackerman, Scrub Radius...you may not like

I rarely post but I thought some of you might find this interesting. I'm studying up on suspension geometry just for fun and wanted to see what the 350z engineers were thinking when they designed the front suspension. I jacked my totally bone stock car with stock Enthusiast trim 18" wheels 225/45/18's, then got the front suspension to factory ride height. I put a pencil on the center of the wheel on the outside wall right where the contact patch would be, then in the center and then inside. After turning the wheel 10 or so times, I got enough clean lines to determine the arc of the steering.

Here's what I found.

DISCLAIMER-I'm not saying this is the correct way to do this or what I found is correct, all I know is that I got consistent results. I'm just a car junky.

So what this shows is the inside wheel has less turn-in than the outside wheel during a left turn. So obviously with a two ball joint (or however you want to call it) the 350z designers created what they were after, a virtual moving steering axis. From what I know, this should have a massive effect on scrub radius.

So when the wheel is straight, the scrub radius is on outside tire patch (outside being if you cut the tire width in half of the left wheel
engine side will be inside patch, outside patch obviously on the outside).
So from above you'll get two circles. One with a 6" diameter and the other with a 17.38" diameter. You then find the distance to the center of the tire axis. So using the center of the steering arc above the scrub radius is -1.5". As you turn right the scrub radius stays negative, neglecting camber change, it stays -1.5" (will talk about camber change in a second).