Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2009, 06:34 PM   #1
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default pioneer avic-90bt keeps shutting off randomly

Hey guys, just installed my Pioneer avic-90bt last night in my 2008 Z base model, and did the complete bypass using a wiretap to tap the pink wire into the white VSS as well as the ebrake/mute-repin ground.

Anyways, fired up the system... the unit looks beautiful.

Except it keeps restarting/turning off randomly. Ill be driving around OR parked, and the unit will sometimes restart, sometimes several restarts in quick succession, or it will just shut off for a while and come back on. I checked my grounds first, but they look alright. I used the avic-d3 DIY guide to find the ground points, and the wires are all secure.

I have absolutely no idea in hell what is wrong with the install. Is it a bad unit? Is it a bad install? Should i pay up and take it to a shop? Other than this issue, the unit/gps/mic all work fabulously.
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:49 PM   #2
Gibbs
Know it all
 
Gibbs's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dallas (Colleyville), Texas
Posts: 696
Points: 2,193, Level: 28
Points: 2,193, Level: 28 Points: 2,193, Level: 28 Points: 2,193, Level: 28
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

The only thing that I can think of is that your "power wire" and or "remote shut off wire" is loose and keeps disconecting which causes it to restart/powerdown.
Gibbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:07 PM   #3
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gibbs View Post
The only thing that I can think of is that your "power wire" and or "remote shut off wire" is loose and keeps disconecting which causes it to restart/powerdown.
I carefully, and almost painstakingly soldered all of my wires, and then heat shrinked every single wire. The connections should be ok. Here is one thing i am considering... could it be my mute wire that i re-pinned? As per the D3 DIY install guide, i put it in the pin whole right above it, HOWEVER the avic411 forums show the pin in the 4th whole, not the first whole right above it.

Could that be it?
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:08 PM   #4
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 4.2%
Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2%
Default

told ya to buy authorized.... have fun with buying a new unit
__________________
06 MBP 6MT Z, Tourenn, JBL MS-8, F90-BT, H.A.T. L841pro-SE, 2x IDMAX, 2-Q1200.1, 2-Q450.4
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 11:08 PM   #5
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

6ave electronics is pretty reputable, ill give em a call if i cant get this figured out (they are authorized for everything they sell)
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust

Last edited by quiksilverx181; 04-13-2009 at 11:11 PM.
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:28 AM   #6
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 4.2%
Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2%
Default

wow, that was kinda sh!tty to say


sorry i had a few drinks last night
__________________
06 MBP 6MT Z, Tourenn, JBL MS-8, F90-BT, H.A.T. L841pro-SE, 2x IDMAX, 2-Q1200.1, 2-Q450.4
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 01:34 PM   #7
350z 6spd
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (9)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 568
Points: 3,279, Level: 35
Points: 3,279, Level: 35 Points: 3,279, Level: 35 Points: 3,279, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

avic411.com
__________________
'07 NISMO #273 REDLINE- SFZCC
350z 6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 02:26 PM   #8
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 350z 6spd View Post
avic411.com
been cruisin the site, and i have read literally the first 8 pages of threads. Also did a search. There are some POSSIBLE solutions but they require me to go buy an SD card, which i will do in a few days.
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 02:46 PM   #9
350z 6spd
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (9)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 568
Points: 3,279, Level: 35
Points: 3,279, Level: 35 Points: 3,279, Level: 35 Points: 3,279, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

I would try reloading the newest firmware and see if thats works.

OT: You can do some pretty cool stuff with what some of those guys have put together.
__________________
'07 NISMO #273 REDLINE- SFZCC
350z 6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 01:43 PM   #10
neosolipsism
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 31
Points: 1,087, Level: 17
Points: 1,087, Level: 17 Points: 1,087, Level: 17 Points: 1,087, Level: 17
Today's Activity: 0.3%
Today's Activity: 0.3% Today's Activity: 0.3% Today's Activity: 0.3%
Default

I don't recall having to touch the VSS last time I bypassed an F900. Am I missing something?... Note that the D3 and the F-series aren't exactly the same.
__________________
06 Base 6spd LeMans Sunset
neosolipsism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 05:25 PM   #11
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neosolipsism View Post
I don't recall having to touch the VSS last time I bypassed an F900. Am I missing something?... Note that the D3 and the F-series aren't exactly the same.
Think its a good idea to remove the VSS tap and see how it works?
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 03:34 PM   #12
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

ok so i removed the VSS tap, and its still doing it. Not sure what to do. Defective unit? It doesnt even turn on all the time when i turn on the car...
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:49 PM   #13
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 4.2%
Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2%
Default

pull it and rewire it all


meter all of the wires and make sure they arnt grounding out somewhere
__________________
06 MBP 6MT Z, Tourenn, JBL MS-8, F90-BT, H.A.T. L841pro-SE, 2x IDMAX, 2-Q1200.1, 2-Q450.4
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:31 PM   #14
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtaylorpcb View Post
pull it and rewire it all


meter all of the wires and make sure they arnt grounding out somewhere
Did that today, all the wires tested normally. I also ran a visual over all connections, everything is holding perfectly (soldered) and heat shrinked sufficiently. Im gonna try to re-load the firmware, as some have suggested on avic411.com, but it might or might not work. I kind of feel like just ripping this thing out and shipping it back to its maker.
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust

Last edited by quiksilverx181; 04-17-2009 at 12:05 AM.
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 01:53 PM   #15
PV350Z
Banned
 
PV350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PV/Houston,Texas
Posts: 172
Points: 1,999, Level: 26
Points: 1,999, Level: 26 Points: 1,999, Level: 26 Points: 1,999, Level: 26
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

good luck with fixing it ...my next purchase is the f900bt
PV350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 03:43 PM   #16
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quiksilverx181 View Post
Did that today, all the wires tested normally. I also ran a visual over all connections, everything is holding perfectly (soldered) and heat shrinked sufficiently. Im gonna try to re-load the firmware, as some have suggested on avic411.com, but it might or might not work. I kind of feel like just ripping this thing out and shipping it back to its maker.
K i tried that known method of fixing most reboot problems, and no cigar. What a piece of crap unit.
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 11:12 PM   #17
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 4.2%
Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2%
Default

mine just started going crazy today

it will do the loading screen and then just cut to black

i go in to try and change settings but all of the text is black so i cant see it


WTF!
__________________
06 MBP 6MT Z, Tourenn, JBL MS-8, F90-BT, H.A.T. L841pro-SE, 2x IDMAX, 2-Q1200.1, 2-Q450.4
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 12:59 AM   #18
quiksilverx181
Registered User
 
quiksilverx181's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Irvine and Fresno, CA
Posts: 115
Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22 Points: 1,551, Level: 22
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to quiksilverx181
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamtaylorpcb View Post
mine just started going crazy today

it will do the loading screen and then just cut to black

i go in to try and change settings but all of the text is black so i cant see it


WTF!
that is exactly what mine does. Apparently its a super wide-spread problem that has a solution that works for only SOME units and not others (randomly works or not).

I hate this piece of crap. What do you think of the Pioneer AVH-4100DVD? I know it doesnt have navi, but as a double din unit, what do you think?

I am considering the Kenwood units, but their just so damn ugly, and the ipod interface isnt intuitive looking like the avic was. Thats my main concern is ipod use-ability, followed by sound quality output, and then GPS function....

oh yea i should add that i called 6ave, they offered a full refund, so i might take them up on that.


Input?
__________________
2008 350Z // San Marino Blue // 6MT // Nismo S-Tune Exhaust
quiksilverx181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 01:09 AM   #19
jadaniya
Banned
 
jadaniya's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (22)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 1,463
Points: 3,003, Level: 33
Points: 3,003, Level: 33 Points: 3,003, Level: 33 Points: 3,003, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quiksilverx181 View Post
Icould it be my mute wire that i re-pinned? As per the D3 DIY install guide, i put it in the pin whole right above it, HOWEVER the avic411 forums show the pin in the 4th whole, not the first whole right above it.

Could that be it?
did you try to fix this yet? It seems pretty stupid that you'd wire it up like a d3 when it is NOT a d3. I'd go with the avic411 wiring and see if it still bugs out. I did the avic411 bypass on my 900bt, and it works flawlessly. I'm not sure how much the mute wire/chaning the mute wire can affect the system, but I wouldn't be surprise if its your fault this shiz is happening... hope you still get the refund (if you chose to go this route).
jadaniya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:39 AM   #20
adamtaylorpcb
Registered User
 
adamtaylorpcb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 890
Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27 Points: 2,130, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 4.2%
Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2% Today's Activity: 4.2%
Default

found the fix for mine


i put my car in reverse and it came on

somehow my settings got reset and the reverse signal was set to + not -

changed that and all is good


as far as ipod interface .... look into the alpine IVA-W505 that will be my next double din

the nav unit is separate portable unit that docks inside... like another $175
__________________
06 MBP 6MT Z, Tourenn, JBL MS-8, F90-BT, H.A.T. L841pro-SE, 2x IDMAX, 2-Q1200.1, 2-Q450.4
adamtaylorpcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:39 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
90, 90bt, avic, avic90, avic90bt, blue, bt, bypass, forum, g35, mic, pioneer, problem, problems, system, vss, wire



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup