Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceUsed CarsGarageVendor Directory
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2009, 05:20 PM   #1
vorm
Registered User

 
vorm's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default My Kenwood DNX5140 install

I installed it on Tuesday and took a few pics of in case anyone is interested. Sorry about the poor quality and glare, but had to use my iPhone and since it has no flash, I had to park it outside to get enough light for it.

Like others have said, the 5140 is basically the upgraded, 2009 model of the 5120.

Overview:
Click the image to open in full size.

I had to extend the holes on the OEM brackets to get it not to stick out, and might have got it a little too far back by a about a mm or two. I also decided to try to make the edges flush rather than the middle or splitting the difference. There are some slight gaps around the edges between the unit and the Metra face, but the are tiny as well. When I showed a buddy today the first thing he said was "Wow, you fit that perfectly", so I guess it's pretty good and should stop letting the OCD in me worry about it.

Click the image to open in full size.

For the iPod connection I cut a hole in the middle back bottom of the cubby under the rubber mat. I made it just big enough to fit the jacks through. While this may seem like a weird way to do it, I decided to run the female USB jack up through it, then connect the iPod cable, run that back below the cubby and then the iPod cable come back up the top. This gives me access to the USB port on the unit without having to take the dash appart while at the same time not have a ton of cable coiled up inside the cubby. (The iPod cable is pretty long). Optionally I could have had the connection on hanging out the side of the dash in the floorboard, but didn't want any cords showing and this way they don't when the cubby door is closed.

[The mat is up a little on the side in this pic and stuff is moved around to show it all]

Click the image to open in full size.

Today I decided to change the boot up screen from the Default kenwood one to the Z logo:

Click the image to open in full size.

Below is the actual image I'm using, if anyone wants it. For whatever reason it's not perfect on the DNX5140's srceen and distorts a little on the circle, I think that can be fixed with some size adjustments on the image size though. If someone fixes it or makes a better one, please let me know cause I suck at photochop.

Click the image to open in full size.

Also to change the bootup screen on the Kenwood DNX5140 you do the following This works on several other Kenwood DNX units as well, but please note that when I did this it cleared out most of my settings, radio presets, etc, so I recommend doing this BEFORE you go adjust the settings on your unit.

1) Connect a USB flash drive that has the image on it (See why I left the USB port accessible!!! )
2) Hold down SRC+EJECT while pressing the RESET Button.
3) A screen will pop up with two choices "Kenwood Image" or "OEM Image"
4) Select OEM image
5) Select whatever file from the USB drive you want to use and press enter.
6) Turn off the unit (Hold SCR) then power it back up (Hold SCR again).

Your image should now be displayed when the HU boots.
vorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 06:48 PM   #2
Spike100
Old 350Z Driver
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Frostbite Falls
Posts: 5,821
Points: 5,447, Level: 47
Points: 5,447, Level: 47 Points: 5,447, Level: 47 Points: 5,447, Level: 47
Today's Activity: 15.3%
Today's Activity: 15.3% Today's Activity: 15.3% Today's Activity: 15.3%
Default

Nice. Excellent fitment and finish. It looks very professional. Your pictures are excellent as well.

--Spike
Spike100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:53 PM   #3
John H.
Registered User
 
John H.'s Avatar
 
Trader Score: (27)
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The OC, So Cal
Posts: 390
Points: 2,581, Level: 30
Points: 2,581, Level: 30 Points: 2,581, Level: 30 Points: 2,581, Level: 30
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Looks great. I ran my iPod adapter and USB cable the same way.
John H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:57 PM   #4
Peteski
Registered User
 
Peteski's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 328
Points: 3,424, Level: 36
Points: 3,424, Level: 36 Points: 3,424, Level: 36 Points: 3,424, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to Peteski
Default

You did a very nice job! Congrats!
Peteski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 05:55 PM   #5
MB33
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mineola, Long Island NY
Posts: 1,235
Points: 2,655, Level: 31
Points: 2,655, Level: 31 Points: 2,655, Level: 31 Points: 2,655, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 2.9%
Today's Activity: 2.9% Today's Activity: 2.9% Today's Activity: 2.9%
Default

nice does that have a video output?
MB33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 11:46 AM   #6
vorm
Registered User

 
vorm's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MB33 View Post
nice does that have a video output?
Yep, it has a set of AV outputs on the back of the unit, so it could be hooked up to a 2nd monitor.
vorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 03:20 PM   #7
StreetOC192
Registered User
 
StreetOC192's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,136
Points: 3,105, Level: 34
Points: 3,105, Level: 34 Points: 3,105, Level: 34 Points: 3,105, Level: 34
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Nice job. Looks great......especially with the emblem as the wallpaper.
__________________
It's good to be back
StreetOC192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 12:26 PM   #8
Dave_M
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Posts: 4
Default

Hi Vorm

I've just installed the 5240 - UK version of yours, and can't seem to change the bootup screen. I can get to the choice screen of "Kenwood image" or "OEM image" - but there's no highlight around the OEM image button and it won't let me press it. I've got a USB drive inserted with the pic saved on it. Any ideas?

Cheers
Dave
Dave_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 11:38 AM   #9
vorm
Registered User

 
vorm's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27 Points: 2,049, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_M View Post
Hi Vorm

I've just installed the 5240 - UK version of yours, and can't seem to change the bootup screen. I can get to the choice screen of "Kenwood image" or "OEM image" - but there's no highlight around the OEM image button and it won't let me press it. I've got a USB drive inserted with the pic saved on it. Any ideas?

Cheers
Dave
I had problems getting the unit to see images on the flash drive, and this may be why it won't let you select the "OEM image" because it's not finding any. What I ended up doing was taking everything off the USB drive except the images I wanted to use. Also put them in the root of the drive and not inside any folders. After I did this the unit saw the images and I was able to set them. Hope that helps.
vorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:42 AM   #10
l2iceman
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 397
Points: 2,162, Level: 28
Points: 2,162, Level: 28 Points: 2,162, Level: 28 Points: 2,162, Level: 28
Today's Activity: 2.7%
Today's Activity: 2.7% Today's Activity: 2.7% Today's Activity: 2.7%
Default

hey, where is the "reset" button? when I hit eject and SRC, the disc drive makes a noise and the unit turns off....that's it...when i press SRC to turn it back on, turns on like usual...i don't see any reset button...there is a pinhole on the front whice I tried poking with a paper clip, but nothing was there...just went through it...
__________________
- DBZ 6spd with nismo mats and a rubber shank
l2iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 05:04 PM   #11
fizmixa
Registered User
 
fizmixa's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chi-town
Posts: 154
Points: 2,790, Level: 32
Points: 2,790, Level: 32 Points: 2,790, Level: 32 Points: 2,790, Level: 32
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

not sure if this works for the 5140, but this is for the 8120. it also worked for my 7120. apparently you need an additional file on the thumbdrive and the filename for the image cannot have any spaces in it. read through the thread for more info. hope it helps.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=15074372
fizmixa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:54 PM   #12
l2iceman
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 397
Points: 2,162, Level: 28
Points: 2,162, Level: 28 Points: 2,162, Level: 28 Points: 2,162, Level: 28
Today's Activity: 2.7%
Today's Activity: 2.7% Today's Activity: 2.7% Today's Activity: 2.7%
Default

hey, ok it worked out, I was pushing the wrong "hole" for the reset button lol..anyway it worked fine, on the usb drive, i had the file on the root directory..I had mp3s and movies on the thumb drive...the mp3 read fine but the movie didn't(was avi)...but anyway, works great!
__________________
- DBZ 6spd with nismo mats and a rubber shank
l2iceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 01:01 AM   #13
wylee
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Default

I know this is a pretty old thread, but I just found it through Google.

What Ipod cable are you using? Did you have to plug anything else into the back of the head unit?

I have the DNX5140 and just got an Ipod. I'm hoping to find a cable that will do everything though the USB plug but the cable Kenwood says is required (KCA-IP301V) also has 1 video and 1 audio plug that plugs into the back of the unit.

TIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by vorm View Post

For the iPod connection I cut a hole in the middle back bottom of the cubby under the rubber mat. I made it just big enough to fit the jacks through. While this may seem like a weird way to do it, I decided to run the female USB jack up through it, then connect the iPod cable, run that back below the cubby and then the iPod cable come back up the top. This gives me access to the USB port on the unit without having to take the dash appart while at the same time not have a ton of cable coiled up inside the cubby. (The iPod cable is pretty long). Optionally I could have had the connection on hanging out the side of the dash in the floorboard, but didn't want any cords showing and this way they don't when the cubby door is closed.

[The mat is up a little on the side in this pic and stuff is moved around to show it all]

Click the image to open in full size.

...

Last edited by wylee; 10-27-2009 at 01:02 AM.
wylee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:34 PM   #14
rumpzz
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 12
Points: 1,481, Level: 21
Points: 1,481, Level: 21 Points: 1,481, Level: 21 Points: 1,481, Level: 21
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

nice job were you able to wire bypass to emergency brake to view movies while rollin
rumpzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:45 PM   #15
bmxpert57
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: sacramento ca
Posts: 90
Points: 3,713, Level: 38
Points: 3,713, Level: 38 Points: 3,713, Level: 38 Points: 3,713, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 4.8%
Today's Activity: 4.8% Today's Activity: 4.8% Today's Activity: 4.8%
Default

nice install..mine looks just like yours, from the Z logo down to the orange matching button colorIt sucks the dash has a slight curve and the kenwood face is flat. ugg the ocd
bmxpert57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:56 PM   #16
DB350
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The cold
Posts: 1,671
Points: 2,038, Level: 27
Points: 2,038, Level: 27 Points: 2,038, Level: 27 Points: 2,038, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 1.9%
Today's Activity: 1.9% Today's Activity: 1.9% Today's Activity: 1.9%
Default

Looks good man

Wish i could do that haha. I just throw the deck in with the dash kit
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2004Black350z View Post
well if u did go to the cow and she said moooo moooo mooo which means iv sold 80 other glasses of milk and u r the only whiny b1tch coming back complaining i would make u prove it also
DB350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:29 AM   #17
njano07
Registered User
 
njano07's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 1
Default Awesome!

Just got a DNX5140 for my '05 roadster, grabbed the last one off of Crutchfield for $595!!! Just wondering if you could elaborate on how you got it to sink into the dash more like that, your install is awesome but I'm nervous about making any mods without knowing what I'm doing. I've installed a ton of units in the past but never had to mess with the depth of the unit... any help would be awesome!!!
njano07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 08:14 AM   #18
THEDUKE
Registered User
 
THEDUKE's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (24)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern Califronia
Posts: 620
Points: 3,956, Level: 40
Points: 3,956, Level: 40 Points: 3,956, Level: 40 Points: 3,956, Level: 40
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

^^^^ You have to drill new holes into the factory bracket.
THEDUKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 06:08 PM   #19
350zeemy
Registered User
 
350zeemy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 99
Points: 1,654, Level: 23
Points: 1,654, Level: 23 Points: 1,654, Level: 23 Points: 1,654, Level: 23
Today's Activity: 10.8%
Today's Activity: 10.8% Today's Activity: 10.8% Today's Activity: 10.8%
Send a message via AIM to 350zeemy
Default

ok can someone help me out?? im holding src and the eject button.. then reset button.. nothing happens, it just starts up, its not giving me an option for the kenwood or oem image.. i checked usb, and i have image on the usb its not in any folders or anything.. help?
350zeemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:15 PM   #20
psytropic
Registered User
 
psytropic's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 137
Points: 5,753, Level: 49
Points: 5,753, Level: 49 Points: 5,753, Level: 49 Points: 5,753, Level: 49
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Did you have to drill holes in your cubby for the USB cable?
psytropic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:15 PM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
350z, 5140, backup, boot, cable, dnx, dnx5140, install, installation, installing, kenwood, resetting, sale, time, usb



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup