Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceUsed CarsGarageVendor Directory
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2010, 11:46 AM   #1
ou8thisSN
Registered User

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 134
Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0.9%
Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9%
Default how easy is it to replace bose sub with alpine r 10" in stock location?

I have a 1995 nissan maxima i was driving before I got the 350z. I have an alpine 10" R-series sub and 500 watt alpine amp to go with it. I was hoping the bose system would be good, but its severely lacking in the low end. Anyway I was wondering if i could easily swap in my amp and sub into the stock location or not?

Where is the location of the stock amp powering the bose sub right now?

Will I have to run new wiring/fuse/etc from the battery to power just this amp/sub or will the stock wiring be enough to power 500 watts in addition to whatever the bose speakers use?

I like the treble/midrange in the doors and the stock head unit is fine so all i want to have replaced is the subwoofer.... how easy will this be?
ou8thisSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 12:31 PM   #2
sdZ33
Registered User
 
sdZ33's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (39)
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,974
Points: 2,986, Level: 33
Points: 2,986, Level: 33 Points: 2,986, Level: 33 Points: 2,986, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

search
__________________
Executive Elite Auto Body-(619)587-8773
sdZ33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 02:58 PM   #3
350ZTheStandard
Registered User
 
350ZTheStandard's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NEW AMERICA
Posts: 8,891
Points: 4,744, Level: 43
Points: 4,744, Level: 43 Points: 4,744, Level: 43 Points: 4,744, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 1.2%
Today's Activity: 1.2% Today's Activity: 1.2% Today's Activity: 1.2%
Default

Can you use a phillips screwdriver or a nut driver, really nothing to replace a 10" sub where the stock Blose sub is located behind the drivers seat.
__________________
chewwwy momma, hot diggety & shazam, be manly & have a good day.
350ZTheStandard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 03:03 PM   #4
duro78
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: ny
Posts: 1,575
Points: 2,586, Level: 30
Points: 2,586, Level: 30 Points: 2,586, Level: 30 Points: 2,586, Level: 30
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Being able to and it actually being worth doing is too completely different things. Dont waste your time
__________________
o4 Sb base original owner. ings lx molded f/r,Mb
duro78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 05:45 PM   #5
Spork
Registered User

 
Spork's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 27,616
Silverstone-Z
Points: 16,244, Level: 81
Points: 16,244, Level: 81 Points: 16,244, Level: 81 Points: 16,244, Level: 81
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duro78 View Post
Being able to and it actually being worth doing is too completely different things. Dont waste your time
^ This.


It'll sound like complete crap.
__________________
Spork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 06:07 AM   #6
ou8thisSN
Registered User

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 134
Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0.9%
Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9%
Default

The thing is, I've never "worked" on cars. Although I know a lot about home audio and have wired and put together projects in other arenas, I dont know anything about car audio. In my previous car, I had circuit city do the install, but all the installers I called refuse to touch the system unless I buy parts from them, new.

I guess I'm wondering if I ran wire, which I'd have to do all the way from the battery to the hatch area, how difficult is it? how much 'tearing apart' of the car is involved? and can I still use it with the stock head unit? I'd really rather not replace it at all.
ou8thisSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:00 PM   #7
idkorcare
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: atlanta
Posts: 64
Points: 875, Level: 15
Points: 875, Level: 15 Points: 875, Level: 15 Points: 875, Level: 15
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Honestly it sounds like you might be better off just having someone else do it. Small price to pay for the piece of mind that it was done correctly and could save you more time or money in the long run.

As far as the Alpine Type r in the stock location, it sounds worse than the factory sub. I tried the same idea with the same sub thinking I had done it years ago and it sounded good and I was way off.
__________________
11 years car audio sales and installation
idkorcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:05 PM   #8
ou8thisSN
Registered User

 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 134
Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29 Points: 2,334, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0.9%
Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9% Today's Activity: 0.9%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idkorcare View Post
Honestly it sounds like you might be better off just having someone else do it. Small price to pay for the piece of mind that it was done correctly and could save you more time or money in the long run.

As far as the Alpine Type r in the stock location, it sounds worse than the factory sub. I tried the same idea with the same sub thinking I had done it years ago and it sounded good and I was way off.
thanks for the advice, i like everything else about the car except the almost non existent bass. I dont think i'll put the alpine in, I dont know if i want to lose the already limited storage space just for adding the sub.
ou8thisSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:15 PM   #9
idkorcare
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: atlanta
Posts: 64
Points: 875, Level: 15
Points: 875, Level: 15 Points: 875, Level: 15 Points: 875, Level: 15
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

One of the under strut boxes would sound good with the sub. Thats basically what I did for my wife while building a box for her 12's. I cant see any of those boxes that go in the stock sub location sounding as good as anything in the rear.
__________________
11 years car audio sales and installation
idkorcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:47 PM   #10
nismofreak1208
Professional
 
nismofreak1208's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (26)
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Posts: 1,343
Points: 3,566, Level: 37
Points: 3,566, Level: 37 Points: 3,566, Level: 37 Points: 3,566, Level: 37
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via Yahoo to nismofreak1208
Default

If you're talking about the stock bose sub behind the drivers seat, i've done the swap before using a jl 10' w1v1 i believe in an open air setup. It sounded like absolute crap, then i bought a wicked cas magic box that's made specifically for that spot in the Z and now running a jlw3v3 and it sounds wonderful. More than enough low end than needed and i'm running a rockford fosgate sub. I'll be upgrading soon tho to the jl 13' w5 with the wicked cas setup, found the box from them and can't wait. If you really want to go that route and have it in the stock location, check with them, that way you won't lose truck space, well what little we have anyway
__________________
2008 Brilliant Silver Nismo Z #1208 (The Mistress)
2003 Solar Orange Single Turbo 350z (Dedication Build)
2006 Brilliant Black Audi A8L (Daily Driver)
2006 Silver Alloy Nissan 350z (Girlfriends Revup)
nismofreak1208 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 06:02 AM   #11
Paul350Z
Living in 350Z

 
Paul350Z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Riverside CA
Posts: 4,725
Default

The vast majority of subwoofers are designed around a closed box. The trapped air acts spring to retard the movement of the cone in-and-out. Without this air tight enclosure the speaker will over extend in both directions distorting beyond it's designed range of performance (in layman's terms sound like poo). The area behind the seat isn't sealed and will prove nearly impossible to seal, others have tried it and fallen short of the requirement to make a completely air tight enclosure.
__________________
Super Black 2005 35th Anniversary
Paul350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 06:16 AM   #12
davidc81
Registered User

 
Trader Score: (23)
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 1,621
Points: 4,651, Level: 43
Points: 4,651, Level: 43 Points: 4,651, Level: 43 Points: 4,651, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

get a wicked CAS box. /thread.
__________________
997
davidc81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 06:16 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
10, 100, 350z, 911, amp, amplifier, bose, factory, nissan, placement, porsche, replace, replacement, subwoofer, watt



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup