Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Best smartphone integration kit

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2015, 01:28 PM
nirukaZ

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thumbs up Best smartphone integration kit

I was searching for a smartphone integration kit for my 2008 350z Touring with stock Bose head unit w/o navigation. I preferred a Bluetooth streaming solution to avoid connecting a physical wire every time I get in the car but most available solutions either supported only aux-in like the USA Spec PA15-NIS or didn't come with a wire harness and you needed to cut in the existing wires which, being a novice, I was not comfortable with.

I tried several options but USA Spec BT45-NIS was the clear winner.

The good:
  • It comes with wire harness compatible with the vehicle (same as PA15-NIS) which intercepts the system without modifying any factory wiring.
  • Connects via bluetooth or aux-in whichever you prefer. The bluetooth connectivity is seamless and works as a built-in bluetooth unit would. Once paired, it connects automatically with my phone when I start the car and resumes from the last audio session without me even touching the phone.
  • Amazing sound quality, almost as good as CD. That's because it goes right into the satellite radio connection which is supposed to be higher quality than normal radio.

The bad:
  • Call quality is ok. I have found it to be at par with the stock bluetooth calling option which itself is just ok.

Overall I'm very happy with this kit and the installation was super easy. But I had a very tough time finding about it because most places mention only the aux-in kits. Thought I would share it in case anyone is looking for something similar.

Cheers
The following users liked this post:
viper3two (08-01-2015)
Old 08-01-2015, 01:46 PM
dSpaceman

Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts

You could've gotten a Scosche wiring harness off Amazon for a couple bucks and you wouldn't need to cut any oem wires.