Notices
Audio Builds Audio projects and builds from my350z members

First time installer

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 08:28 PM
Patrickn210

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time installer

Allright, so let me start out by saying that I've never done any audio work before which means I'm really quite noobish at this which means I'm gonna ask some really noobish questions so bear with me
I have a 2004 base model, stock everything, non bose
I want to try and keep this simple and not too expensive, so I'm just looking at getting a new deck and changing out the door and rear speakers. No subs.
I'm thinking about buying a PIONEER FH-P8000BT, and for the speakers I've heard good things about the Infinity 6022SI's.
So as far as I know, that is all I'm buying, the Pioneer, and the 4 speakers, and whatever comes with them in the box. I don't know that I need anything else other than tools?
So this is where it gets really noobish lol
I've seen some tutorials on how to remove all the necessary panels so I think I should be allright on that, at this point I'm just curious about wiring and power. Is it as simple as going in to my car, taking out my old stuff and putting the new stuff in? Will I need to do any new wiring, is an amp going to be needed for any of this?
Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks
Old 04-08-2009, 04:51 AM
sintaxeror

You will be fine without an amp... so it really will be as simple as taking the old stuff out, and installing the new stuff.
The only new wiring you will need is the pioneer harness adapter so your new stuff will plug right into the factory interface. Also, since your speakers are 2-way, you can use the factory wires to connect them, but you will want to just disconnect the front factory tweeters.
You will also need a dash kit so that the headunit fits nice and flush in the dash.
Overall, it should be pretty simple -- good start for a first install.
Old 04-08-2009, 08:37 AM
Patrickn210