Notices
Audio Builds Audio projects and builds from my350z members

Need Advice: Starting Project

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 06:57 AM
Boogshag

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need Advice: Starting Project

OK, here's my plan, but I need some guidance because I've never messed with an audio system. My plan is to get some nice component speakers for the fronts, a new head unit that is ipod friendly (do some even charge your ipod while they're connected? and I can do without a CD slot), and an amp to power the speakers. Would it be possible to also amplify the rear speakers with the same amp, or would that sound bad with the stock rears (bose...). Could I leave the rears disconnected and rely on the front components, or would that not be sufficient? Im not a big bass guy, so I dont need any subs.

So, any advice with what goodies to buy or what setup would be best would be greatly appreciated. Im a newbie at this audio stuff so help me out! Thanks
Old 07-28-2010, 09:27 AM
davidv

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Generally amplifiers are designed to power 4 speakers. You might find an amplifier to run 5 speakers. One would be the woofer of course.
Old 07-28-2010, 09:36 AM
Boogshag

Originally Posted by davidv
Generally amplifiers are designed to power 4 speakers. You might find an amplifier to run 5 speakers. One would be the woofer of course.
any idea if running the crappy stock rear speakers to the amp along with the front components will be better than running the components in front by themselves?
Old 07-28-2010, 09:42 AM
Blck350z

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

...before you get flamed for not "searching" blah blah blah....

Do the following-

-headunit
-Scosche wiring harness (made for the bose system you have)
-decent amp
-nice components (don't cheap out here)
-wicked CAS door boxes ---> http://www.wickedcas.com/product.php...0&cat=8&page=1 <--- these will let you get the full sound out of the components

Good luck sir!