Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

My Floaty Z Roadster

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2016, 01:08 PM
vagel72

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Smile My Floaty Z Roadster

Yesterday my car felt like it was floating while driving.

Especially when I changed gears the car felt like it was bouncing left then right. I'm assuming shocks have finally seen the end of days. I just wanna check here first since I'm not a certified mechanic by any means but it seems pretty obvious and I just wanna verify here with you guys.

Not lowered it a roadster 2004 with 89,000 miles on it and I'm pretty sure they are the original parts on it since I bought it in 09 with only 19,000 miles on it.

So basically my car is riding on springs which is absolutely unsafe right now right guys.

Need to drive it like grandma till I replace shocks later this week am I correct.

Thanks for any input and any recommendations on a good deal for shocks all around would be great too.

Thanks All

Angelo T.
<table width="100%" class="tborder" id="smilietable" border="0" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="6"><tbody><tr valign="top"><td class="alt2"></td><td class="alt2"> </td></tr></tbody></table>
Old 04-06-2016, 02:18 PM
Spike100

Received 203 Likes on 173 Posts

I have a 2003 on which I replaced the shocks at about 85k. The shocks were definitely starting to get tired, but still OK to drive on.

Your problem description sounds like worn shocks, but it seems too extreme.

Did this handling issue happen suddenly? If so, you probably have a single blown shock. If one shock needs replacement, you change all four.
Old 04-06-2016, 03:11 PM
vagel72

Yes it happened suddenly yesterday in fact. Now when I get to about 40 - 60 mph and I shift at high rpm's like between 3-4000 the car feels bouncy like left to right exactly like a shock or 2 are blown completely.