Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2009, 04:48 PM   #1
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default 03 with rev up swap

Hello,

I have a 03 track with a vortech supercharger. Yesterday found out the car has a lots of white smoke when it's boost. So my mechanics think it might be the piston rings or crack cylinder wall.

And i have a 06 rev up spare long block in my garage. Anyone knows what parts i need to swap the rev up into my 03 track or it's direct bolt on?

Thanks
Jacky
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:02 AM   #2
Xlr82x
Registered User
 
Xlr82x's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 136
Default

it is possible but i am not 100% sure. Haven't heard of an upgrade like that.. Probably less of a hassel to pull yours and rebuild. Most likly you fried your rings..
Xlr82x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:09 AM   #3
ZU L8R
Viper Sellout
 
ZU L8R's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (84)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 6,893
Points: 7,661, Level: 58
Points: 7,661, Level: 58 Points: 7,661, Level: 58 Points: 7,661, Level: 58
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to ZU L8R
Default

If you take the heads off your revup spare longblock you'll be able to swap shortblocks without needing anything except for some gaskets. If you want the revup heads on your car you have to start swapping lots of things. ECU, wiring harness, etc...
__________________
-Matt-
www.FlatOutMotorsports.us
99 Viper GTS Not Stock
My car is so cool it has speakers in the hood!
ZU L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:55 AM   #4
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZU L8R View Post
If you take the heads off your revup spare longblock you'll be able to swap shortblocks without needing anything except for some gaskets. If you want the revup heads on your car you have to start swapping lots of things. ECU, wiring harness, etc...
So the rev up shortblock will direct bolt on to my non rev up motor with some new gasket?

What do i need if i want to put the whole rev up long block in my 03? Ecu, engine harness or somethings else?

Thanks for help. I appericate.

Last edited by jacky ngai; 04-13-2009 at 08:57 AM..
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:56 AM   #5
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xlr82x View Post
it is possible but i am not 100% sure. Haven't heard of an upgrade like that.. Probably less of a hassel to pull yours and rebuild. Most likly you fried your rings..
Because i already have the 06 rev up long block in my garage. That's why i wanna do the upgrade.

Thanks for help.
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:19 AM   #6
ZU L8R
Viper Sellout
 
ZU L8R's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (84)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 6,893
Points: 7,661, Level: 58
Points: 7,661, Level: 58 Points: 7,661, Level: 58 Points: 7,661, Level: 58
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to ZU L8R
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacky ngai View Post
So the rev up shortblock will direct bolt on to my non rev up motor with some new gasket?

What do i need if i want to put the whole rev up long block in my 03? Ecu, engine harness or somethings else?

Thanks for help. I appericate.
Correct, the shortblocks are the same. All you'll need is some new headgaskets.

I know you will @ the LEAST need a ECU and engine harness to swap the whole thing.

I wouldn't put that 06 motor in my car without getting is checked out 1st. Many 06 motor's had oil consuption issues which is why you can find them cheap.
__________________
-Matt-
www.FlatOutMotorsports.us
99 Viper GTS Not Stock
My car is so cool it has speakers in the hood!
ZU L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 03:55 PM   #7
bbs350z
350Z-holic
 
bbs350z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (85)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: milwaukee :/
Posts: 6,665
Points: 7,395, Level: 57
Points: 7,395, Level: 57 Points: 7,395, Level: 57 Points: 7,395, Level: 57
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

i just swapped my old de for a built 06 revup. you will need the revup ecu/harness (roughly $800), 2 extra cam sensors (roughly $70 each), and a nissan dealership to reprogram your key fob to your ecu (they charge for 1 hour--$105 and your car has to be there)...imho just build your 03..or if worse comes to worse, use the 06 block but swap heads, and +1 for zul8r's point on oil consumption
__________________
03 350z/built LS1/t56 + gtk1000 Big Boost! * * 05 Lotus Elise k20+gt30r
bbs350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 04:14 PM   #8
superchargedg
Damn Noobs
 
superchargedg's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: timonium,md.
Posts: 7,276
Points: 6,253, Level: 51
Points: 6,253, Level: 51 Points: 6,253, Level: 51 Points: 6,253, Level: 51
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xlr82x View Post
it is possible but i am not 100% sure. Haven't heard of an upgrade like that.. Probably less of a hassel to pull yours and rebuild. Most likly you fried your rings..
I really hate to say this but there is so much useless info put out here by members.So if you didnt know white smoke indicates coolant getting in the cylinders and being burned and it comes out the exhaust as white smoke.
__________________
My car is bone stock...i promise.
superchargedg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:51 PM   #9
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZU L8R View Post
Correct, the shortblocks are the same. All you'll need is some new headgaskets.

I know you will @ the LEAST need a ECU and engine harness to swap the whole thing.

I wouldn't put that 06 motor in my car without getting is checked out 1st. Many 06 motor's had oil consuption issues which is why you can find them cheap.
Thanks for the reply. I got the engine from a good friend of mine. But i would like to check it out for the oil consumption. Do you know how to check it?

Thanks
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:53 PM   #10
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbs350z View Post
i just swapped my old de for a built 06 revup. you will need the revup ecu/harness (roughly $800), 2 extra cam sensors (roughly $70 each), and a nissan dealership to reprogram your key fob to your ecu (they charge for 1 hour--$105 and your car has to be there)...imho just build your 03..or if worse comes to worse, use the 06 block but swap heads, and +1 for zul8r's point on oil consumption
Thanks for the reply. Do you know where i can get the 06 ecu/harness for good price? My friend works at nissan so reprogram the key will be no problem for me.

Thanks
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 10:54 PM   #11
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superchargedg View Post
I really hate to say this but there is so much useless info put out here by members.So if you didnt know white smoke indicates coolant getting in the cylinders and being burned and it comes out the exhaust as white smoke.
So what do you think what's wrong with my engine?

Thanks for help.
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 11:01 PM   #12
350zfun19
Registered User
 
350zfun19's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (13)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 573
Points: 3,209, Level: 35
Points: 3,209, Level: 35 Points: 3,209, Level: 35 Points: 3,209, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

^ could be a head gasket...
__________________
04 350z
350zfun19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 12:54 PM   #13
Citrus
Registered User
 
Citrus's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 374
Points: 4,495, Level: 42
Points: 4,495, Level: 42 Points: 4,495, Level: 42 Points: 4,495, Level: 42
Today's Activity: 1.4%
Today's Activity: 1.4% Today's Activity: 1.4% Today's Activity: 1.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacky ngai View Post
So what do you think what's wrong with my engine?
Its blowing white smoke
__________________
'06 Interlagos Fire
Citrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 01:07 PM   #14
KPierson
Banned
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Points: 5,037, Level: 45
Points: 5,037, Level: 45 Points: 5,037, Level: 45 Points: 5,037, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to KPierson
Default

I have an '05 rev up ECU for sale from a G35 - should be close enough to work.

Does the motor not have the harness on it?

bbs350z - If you already have a rev up motor why would you need two more cam sensors? The cam sensors should already be on the motor.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 10:19 PM   #15
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson View Post
I have an '05 rev up ECU for sale from a G35 - should be close enough to work.

Does the motor not have the harness on it?

bbs350z - If you already have a rev up motor why would you need two more cam sensors? The cam sensors should already be on the motor.
I think 05 harness and ecu are different than 06. isn't it?

Thanks
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 07:29 AM   #16
KPierson
Banned
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Points: 5,037, Level: 45
Points: 5,037, Level: 45 Points: 5,037, Level: 45 Points: 5,037, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to KPierson
Default

According to my '05 G35 service manual and my '06 350Z manual the plugs are the same. That of course doesn't mean they are, but that is the only way I have to check.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 10:21 PM   #17
jacky ngai
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 52
Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39 Points: 3,821, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson View Post
According to my '05 G35 service manual and my '06 350Z manual the plugs are the same. That of course doesn't mean they are, but that is the only way I have to check.
OK. let me ask my friends to check the part number at nissan to comfirm. PM me for the price you are selling please.

THANKS
jacky ngai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:07 AM   #18
bbs350z
350Z-holic
 
bbs350z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (85)
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: milwaukee :/
Posts: 6,665
Points: 7,395, Level: 57
Points: 7,395, Level: 57 Points: 7,395, Level: 57 Points: 7,395, Level: 57
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson View Post
bbs350z - If you already have a rev up motor why would you need two more cam sensors? The cam sensors should already be on the motor.
i bought a built one and the guy swapped in a stock one so took the pulleys/etc everything else with it
__________________
03 350z/built LS1/t56 + gtk1000 Big Boost! * * 05 Lotus Elise k20+gt30r
bbs350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:07 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
03, 2003, 350z, de, engine, rev, revup, swap, wiring



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup