Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
shiftdrift06
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (24)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Htown
Posts: 483
Points: 3,653, Level: 38
Points: 3,653, Level: 38 Points: 3,653, Level: 38 Points: 3,653, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default Bad Oil Pressure Sensor?

Driving home last night, and I glanced at my Oil Pressure Gauge, and it is peg out to the max, pass 120.

I nearly had a heart attack, and pulled over turned off the engine. I then turn the car on in ACC, with the engine off, and the Gauge jumped back up to @120.

So, I am guessing the Sensor or Gauge is faulty? Because it is not possible to have pressure with the engine off correct?



Also, does having the gauge max out, messes up the gauge the itself?
Should I un hook the sensor until I get a New Sensor, assuming that is the problem?
shiftdrift06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:22 PM   #2
davidv
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 42,795
Points: 11,308, Level: 70
Points: 11,308, Level: 70 Points: 11,308, Level: 70 Points: 11,308, Level: 70
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Click the image to open in full size.
Same happened to me after a day of drag racing. Replace this sensor and you should be good to go.
__________________
370Z 2009 Sport Package
davidv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:27 PM   #3
Nexx
Registered User
 
Nexx's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (41)
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 13,645
Points: 7,081, Level: 55
Points: 7,081, Level: 55 Points: 7,081, Level: 55 Points: 7,081, Level: 55
Today's Activity: 1.4%
Today's Activity: 1.4% Today's Activity: 1.4% Today's Activity: 1.4%
Default

Yep I need to get it replaced too.
__________________
Greddy, HKS, Volk, Haltech, Motordyne....
Nexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 02:05 PM   #4
tylerxfire
Registered User
 
tylerxfire's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (15)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 3,818
Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 2.0%
Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0%
Default

very easy fix but the part is expensive..best place i found to buy it and that had it in stock since my dealership didnt and charged up the *** for it anyway was courtesyparts.com

http://www.courtesyparts.com/25070-s...tml?cPath=714&
__________________
vortech 03 touring 6spd 1.664 60ft..11.78@117.15..3.12 pulley (9-10psi) ..stock block..stock internals....time to part out and start over..

Last edited by tylerxfire; 02-07-2010 at 02:09 PM..
tylerxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 04:09 PM   #5
Gingervitis526
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (19)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 1,484
Gingervitis526 Gingervitis526
Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to Gingervitis526
Default

This sounds horrible but if it pegs out try hitting the top of the gauge cluster with your hand.... that's what I have to do if if gets stuck....
__________________
2003 Stock Block GReddy TT 18G -- 388whp/362wtq @ 6psi
Built by CIN Motorsports
Gamertag/PSN ID=Gingervitis526
Gingervitis526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:16 PM   #6
tylerxfire
Registered User
 
tylerxfire's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (15)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 3,818
Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 2.0%
Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gingervitis526 View Post
This sounds horrible but if it pegs out try hitting the top of the gauge cluster with your hand.... that's what I have to do if if gets stuck....

u must have something wrong with the gauge or a loose connection then..the op has the same symptoms as i had and im sure its his oil pressure sensor or oil sending unit whichever u choose to call it...

yours does this often though? and goes back to normal after hitting it always?
__________________
vortech 03 touring 6spd 1.664 60ft..11.78@117.15..3.12 pulley (9-10psi) ..stock block..stock internals....time to part out and start over..
tylerxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:29 PM   #7
Gingervitis526
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (19)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 1,484
Gingervitis526 Gingervitis526
Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to Gingervitis526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerxfire View Post
u must have something wrong with the gauge or a loose connection then..the op has the same symptoms as i had and im sure its his oil pressure sensor or oil sending unit whichever u choose to call it...

yours does this often though? and goes back to normal after hitting it always?
Yes, it has to be the gauge. It works everytime for me. Sometimes it gets stuck in the middle as well when I am just idling. I havent tried replacing the gauge though.... or the oil pressure sending unit. It doesnt happen very often though to me.
__________________
2003 Stock Block GReddy TT 18G -- 388whp/362wtq @ 6psi
Built by CIN Motorsports
Gamertag/PSN ID=Gingervitis526
Gingervitis526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 11:43 PM   #8
SS21CA
Registered User
 
SS21CA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (7)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gingervitis526 View Post
Yes, it has to be the gauge. It works everytime for me. Sometimes it gets stuck in the middle as well when I am just idling. I havent tried replacing the gauge though.... or the oil pressure sending unit. It doesnt happen very often though to me.
I have the same issue. I nice slap on the head and the gauge works again.
__________________
| Sold '03 SilverStone Z - Track Edition | Bought '13 Genesis Coupe - R-Spec |
SS21CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 04:47 AM   #9
Gingervitis526
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (19)
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Posts: 1,484
Gingervitis526 Gingervitis526
Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37 Points: 3,644, Level: 37
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to Gingervitis526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SS21CA View Post
I have the same issue. I nice slap on the head and the gauge works again.
Good to hear I am not alone. I hate doing it though, its just embarrassing lol
__________________
2003 Stock Block GReddy TT 18G -- 388whp/362wtq @ 6psi
Built by CIN Motorsports
Gamertag/PSN ID=Gingervitis526
Gingervitis526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 12:37 PM   #10
shiftdrift06
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (24)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Htown
Posts: 483
Points: 3,653, Level: 38
Points: 3,653, Level: 38 Points: 3,653, Level: 38 Points: 3,653, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Thanks for all the replies you guys. I got a spare Sensor and swap it out, and now the gauge is back on point.
Thanks again.
shiftdrift06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 02:49 PM   #11
tylerxfire
Registered User
 
tylerxfire's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (15)
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 3,818
Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39 Points: 3,887, Level: 39
Today's Activity: 2.0%
Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiftdrift06 View Post
Thanks for all the replies you guys. I got a spare Sensor and swap it out, and now the gauge is back on point.
Thanks again.

__________________
vortech 03 touring 6spd 1.664 60ft..11.78@117.15..3.12 pulley (9-10psi) ..stock block..stock internals....time to part out and start over..
tylerxfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 02:49 PM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2004, 350z, bad, dropped, evo, gauage, location, nissan, oil, pan, pressure, replace, sender, sending, sensor, symptoms



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup