Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Going Back to Stock Flywheel...

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2010, 09:14 AM
mx594

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Going Back to Stock Flywheel...

So I have read multiple times that the stock flywheel cannot be resurfaced because it is dual mass. I have an ACT streetlite and I can't stand the chatter anymore. Its loud, annoying, and embarrasing. I would like to put the stock one back in but I am concerned about not being able to resurface it. I have a Clutchmasters FX300 clutch that I installed with the ACT flywheel about 1,500 miles ago. The stock flywheel has about 38,000 miles on it. I don't want to toast my new clutch by re-installing the worn flywheel. An new stock flywheel is about $800.

I also read something about using Redline Lightweight Shockproof transmission oil to dampen the noise as another alternative, but I am skeptical.

http://www.redlineoil.com/Products.aspx?pcid=8

Reccomendations?

Last edited by mx594; 03-26-2010 at 09:29 AM.
Old 03-26-2010, 09:53 AM
musubi

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

How much does the ACT fly weigh? The lighter you go, the more chatter you'll get. Maybe try going with a heavier solid flywheel. I know southbend DXD flywheels are only slightly lighter than stock (5 to 7 lbs lighter).
Old 03-26-2010, 10:21 AM
blue350zed

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

No recommendations but good info for someone like me who hasn't gone to a lighter flywheel yet. I had no idea they were noisy enough to make you want to change back to stock.
Old 03-26-2010, 11:00 AM
ramirj2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have an ACT combo with the prolite which is lighter than the streetlite and to me is ok just a little bit when accelerating at low speeds around 2k but nothing that offset the increased response and parasitic loss.
Old 03-26-2010, 11:13 AM
Nexx

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by blue350zed