Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default NATS Antenna??? What does it looks like?

Guys I am having cranking problems lately and I changed alot of parts and it still having the problems! I read alot of info and it makes me think it is the cause of the NATS Antenna! Here my trouble where is it and what does it looks like? I mean what does it looks like as a part? Could you guys help me out or show me photos of how it looks and where it located? Do I need to have a computer to re-program it or can just replace it with the old one! Thanks!
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesZ#3
NATS is part of the BCM. It's located behind the driver side kick panel (same area as fuse box; next to dead pedal).
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

I read a post saying the Antenna is located at the cylinder of where I insert my chipped key? I want to know what's the unit looks like and also is it expensive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by meanz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesZ#3
NATS is part of the BCM. It's located behind the driver side kick panel (same area as fuse box; next to dead pedal).
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:36 AM   #4
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

the piece that the key goes into looks just to be the amp. cant really find much info about this
Attached Thumbnails
NATS Antenna??? What does it looks like?-nats.png  
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:51 AM   #5
dmroberson
Registered User
 
dmroberson's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (26)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Posts: 1,977
zyul8r robie_one ZYUL8R
Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to dmroberson Send a message via Yahoo to dmroberson Send a message via Skype™ to dmroberson
Default

The NATS antenna is in the ignition switch cylinder. Figured it out during my ST800 install.
__________________
Understeer -- n. [uhn-dur-steer] "Why isn't this $h1t turning!?"
Oversteer -- n. [oh-vur-steer] "Oh, $h1t!!"

Last edited by dmroberson; 03-09-2012 at 03:53 AM..
dmroberson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:19 AM   #6
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

How big is the NATS antenna and is it expensive? After I replaced it do I need to re-program my remote keys or I am good to go?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroberson View Post
The NATS antenna is in the ignition switch cylinder. Figured it out during my ST800 install.
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:26 AM   #7
dmroberson
Registered User
 
dmroberson's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (26)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Posts: 1,977
zyul8r robie_one ZYUL8R
Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to dmroberson Send a message via Yahoo to dmroberson Send a message via Skype™ to dmroberson
Default

I think you'd have to replace the key cylinder. Didn't look like something that could be separated. Not sure how much it costs, off hand. But I'm pretty sure if you replace the key cylinder, you'll need new keys too.
__________________
Understeer -- n. [uhn-dur-steer] "Why isn't this $h1t turning!?"
Oversteer -- n. [oh-vur-steer] "Oh, $h1t!!"

Last edited by dmroberson; 03-09-2012 at 05:28 AM..
dmroberson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:36 AM   #8
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

Thanks! That's freakin' suck!!!! So what you did to turn the NATS off? But if I just replaced the key cylinder not the BCM I still need new keys???

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroberson View Post
I think you'd have to replace the key cylinder. Didn't look like something that could be separated. Not sure how much it costs, off hand. But I'm pretty sure if you replace the key cylinder, you'll need new keys too.
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:37 AM   #9
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

Thanks means for the diagram!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by meanz View Post
the piece that the key goes into looks just to be the amp. cant really find much info about this
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:39 AM   #10
dmroberson
Registered User
 
dmroberson's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (26)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Posts: 1,977
zyul8r robie_one ZYUL8R
Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35 Points: 3,327, Level: 35
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to dmroberson Send a message via Yahoo to dmroberson Send a message via Skype™ to dmroberson
Default

When i did the ST800 install, I taped my valet key to the side of the cylinder, and that defeated the NATS system, so the push button start would work.

Yes, if you replace the key cylinder, you'll need new keys, because the ones you have won't be keyed for that cylinder. If you only have to replace the BCM, then you don't have to change keys or anything.
__________________
Understeer -- n. [uhn-dur-steer] "Why isn't this $h1t turning!?"
Oversteer -- n. [oh-vur-steer] "Oh, $h1t!!"
dmroberson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:27 AM   #11
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

Thanks for your info!!! But here's my problem now, is my Key Cylinder (Antenna) mess up or my BCM getting mess up that i have to replace??? Very confusing... no code throw... I can usually start my car fine first time but sometimes I cannot and have to crank two or three times to fireup!!! And sometimes when I fire up the Immobilizer will sometimes trying to stop me by giving me really low rpm at idle (300-400rpm) then all the battery, CEL...etc lights will blink and car will eventally died down and have to crank again to get back to normal!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroberson View Post
When i did the ST800 install, I taped my valet key to the side of the cylinder, and that defeated the NATS system, so the push button start would work.

Yes, if you replace the key cylinder, you'll need new keys, because the ones you have won't be keyed for that cylinder. If you only have to replace the BCM, then you don't have to change keys or anything.
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:58 AM   #12
djamps
Registered User
 
djamps's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 4,482
Points: 4,262, Level: 41
Points: 4,262, Level: 41 Points: 4,262, Level: 41 Points: 4,262, Level: 41
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Doubt it's a NATS issue. Sounds more like a fuel pump problem.

But if you just wanna try it out NATS can be disabled by an Uprev Pro tuner $300-$400 for the reflash at a certified shop.
__________________
Three boosted VQ's and a QX people mover.
djamps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 02:01 PM   #13
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

not to dereail this, still on topic of the Nats...im swapping everything out from my running z into a rolling shell. since im using my ecm from the running z, can i swap the ignitions and be able to start up? That way the key will still be with the same ecm..ive been looking into this but havent had much luck either. trying to save a trip and tow bill to the dealer to get programmed.
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 03:59 PM   #14
djamps
Registered User
 
djamps's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 4,482
Points: 4,262, Level: 41
Points: 4,262, Level: 41 Points: 4,262, Level: 41 Points: 4,262, Level: 41
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meanz View Post
not to dereail this, still on topic of the Nats...im swapping everything out from my running z into a rolling shell. since im using my ecm from the running z, can i swap the ignitions and be able to start up? That way the key will still be with the same ecm..ive been looking into this but havent had much luck either. trying to save a trip and tow bill to the dealer to get programmed.
If you're using the same key you're fine. They key is married to the ECU.

But if you end up needing reprogram don't bother paying the dealer just get uprev reflash with NATS disabled.
__________________
Three boosted VQ's and a QX people mover.
djamps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #15
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

ok thanks, looks like i will be tearing out my ignition tomorrow. already have uprev..
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 06:51 AM   #16
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

Ahahah.. that's what I thought so before so I end up spending US$600 including labor to change a new fuel pump!!! Then it still having problem cranking... and I have changed so many parts before due to this cranking problems... both side of the camshaft position sensor, crank sensor, both side of the oil return fuel line, new spark plug, new coil pads, new throttle position sensor... and not long ago radiator broke so get a new aluminium one and also change to the UR light pulleys... I was wondering if the light pulley causing this problem also but it's not... so after spending all the money change this and that... I think I came to a conclusion that it's gonna be the NATS antenna or the BCM problem... so next seems like I need a new antenna...

But the thing is my Nissan Fairlady is imported from Japan and I am not so sure if I should take the chance to just change the Antenna? Maybe I should try... so I want to be clear changing the NATS antenna I don't need to get a new set of key right because when I get a new second key the shop just look at my BCM and then plug that into his Key computer and make me a new remote control key! I seriously now think the immobilizer is causing me the cranking problem...



Quote:
Originally Posted by djamps View Post
Doubt it's a NATS issue. Sounds more like a fuel pump problem.

But if you just wanna try it out NATS can be disabled by an Uprev Pro tuner $300-$400 for the reflash at a certified shop.
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 07:08 AM   #17
DaveJackson
Registered User
 
DaveJackson's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,424
Points: 2,227, Level: 28
Points: 2,227, Level: 28 Points: 2,227, Level: 28 Points: 2,227, Level: 28
Today's Activity: 2.0%
Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0% Today's Activity: 2.0%
Default

Wow. This sounds awful. I'd have started looking into how I would set the car on fire after the 3rd failed attempt to fix it.
Good luck!
DaveJackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 10:53 AM   #18
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

i just pulled igitions, if you need another antenna thats located with the ignition, pm me, only thing is if you change that out, you would most likely need to be reprogrammed from the dealer.

im guessing its this black box screwed to the ignition?
Attached Thumbnails
NATS Antenna??? What does it looks like?-img_0057.jpg  
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!

Last edited by meanz; 03-10-2012 at 10:57 AM..
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 01:16 AM   #19
nachospizza
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 227
Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29 Points: 2,330, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 1.7%
Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7% Today's Activity: 1.7%
Default

Thank you for the photo could you please take couple more clear photos for me so I can take it to shops and ask around for price! Thank you very much are you also having my problem cranking the car up? I start to hate cars with these kind of Immobilizer or any of the electronic sensors or gadgets... freakin **** me off. Spent all the money to change parts that aren't actually the problem... I thought Japanese cars last forever...

Quote:
Originally Posted by meanz View Post
i just pulled igitions, if you need another antenna thats located with the ignition, pm me, only thing is if you change that out, you would most likely need to be reprogrammed from the dealer.

im guessing its this black box screwed to the ignition?
nachospizza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:13 AM   #20
meanz
Registered User
 
meanz's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (20)
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greenville, sc
Posts: 1,537
mean350z
Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33 Points: 3,007, Level: 33
Today's Activity: 21.3%
Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3% Today's Activity: 21.3%
Default

no im not having any problems. i had 1 complete running z and bought a rolling shell to swap everything into. i put in my ecm from the running z and didnt want to have to take my car to the dealer to get the keys reprogrammed. So im using the same keys and ignition now that went with the ecm. I just wont know if this works for me or not till my supercharger comes back from vortech since my oil pan is tapped and if i try to start the car, i will lose all my oil. i can take better pics and send them to you, no problem.
__________________
Built Vortech SI 550hp/466trq @17psi Thanks CIN MOTORSPORTS!
meanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 07:13 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2004, 350z, antena, antenna, battery, changing, died, failure, g35, infiniti, located, nats, oh58, set, st800



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup