Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Bolt-ons without tune + CEL and its running lean.

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2014, 08:41 AM
fullboltons

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bolt-ons without tune + CEL and its running lean.

Hello everyone, I have a bit of a complex issue with my Z, this week I took it to a shop in northern okc and had it run on the dyno. The fellow there told me right off the bat that his dyno read low, but he was only charging $60 for three pulls and A/F ratio hookup so I did it anyway. The first pull was pretty miserable with 236hp 223ftlbs of torque, after putting the fan in front of the car, it pulled 244hp 228 torque. The third pull made 245hp 230 torque. These numbers told me that the Z needs a tune, and I’m leaning towards UpRev as far as that goes. The mods include K&N short ram intake( the fipk model) plenum spacer(5/16in.) megan racing longtube headers and true dual replica exhaust and UR underdrive pulleys. I will say that I’m new to cars and tuning but I know enough to know that running lean poses a threat to your engine. So the thing that bothered me the most was the A/F ratio; it seems to be sitting in the 14s at Wide Open Throttle. At that time I immediately starting thinking of ways to fix the problem, but a couple of days ago it occurred to me that I should find out what is causing it first. I’ve come up with three major possibilities: The mods without a tune. The CEL code( I’ll explain this in a moment) and the intake. I didn’t choose any of the mods related to the engine/powertrain, that was done by the previous owner who is seemingly impossible to find and talk to. (the car came from a dealer)
Here are the second and third dyno graphs.

On the way home from the shop the CEL came on, so I checked it and the code was P1273 after looking it up these seem to be the causes for the light:
- Faulty Air fuel ratio (A/F) sensor 1 Bank 1
- Faulty Air fuel ratio (A/F) sensor 1 heater Bank 1
- Fuel pressure