Notices
Engine & Drivetrain VQ Power and Delivery

Tires+Coolant Flush=Limp Mode???

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2016, 07:05 PM
Sebastian777

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Tires+Coolant Flush=Limp Mode???

Bought my car, 05 350z 35th Anniversary 6 speed, three days ago and already ran into an issue.

So I went to tire discounters today and got a new set of tires, also had them do a coolant flush as it was due, car has 63k. Tech that worked on it seemed pretty knowledgeable, but I'm no mechanic. In any case, when they were done with my car, they pulled it around, I paid and went to leave.

First thing I noticed was I was having trouble taking off, which isn't that uncommon as I'm fairly new to a manual tranny. Go through a couple of stop signs and go to pull on to the road. That's when I notice that the car would not rev above 2500 rpm. It was like the rev limiter was set at 2500. (Guessing that is limp mode for these cars.) So I go back to the store and tell them what happened. They get in and start it up, rev it up, no problem. Take it for a spin around the block, problem has disappeared and didn't show up in my 50-60 mile drive home.

Odd thing was, no trouble lights lit up on my gauge cluster when it was "limping". All gauge readings were fine. What would have caused this?
Old 10-31-2016, 09:48 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 2,283 Likes on 1,645 Posts

2 things are my guesses.

1. Tail light bulb going out

2. Tire sizes are wrong and causing problems. Did you get a slip light ?
Old 11-01-2016, 03:04 AM
Sebastian777

No dash lights at all, put factory size tires on the car.

Will a tail light going out put the car in limp mode?
Old 11-07-2016, 04:36 AM
samsniss350z

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts

Some of the Ebay rear lights play havoc with the electrics and cause all sorts of problems. But I take it your rear lights are standard.
Old 11-07-2016, 08:23 AM
Sebastian777

Had factory tail lights in at the time.
Old 11-09-2016, 12:05 AM