Notices

DIY- How to install CAMS and Valve-springs

Old 02-28-2015, 11:53 AM
thekyledeg

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Thumbs up DIY- How to install CAMS and Valve-springs

This was from my NA build thread, i figured it could be of some use in here also so here yall go..Alright, boys and girls.. ladies and gents. The end all be all.. just kidding... im not good at making DIY's, spelling, or grammars so this probably wont be great and I move pretty quick while Im working also so when i stop to take pictures they may be bad quality and yeah im a shitbag.

Couple things first.

1. Make sure you have the proper tools, please. Before you start anything, the very first thing you need to do is try and bust the crank pulley bolt loose cause if all you have is a 3 foot breaker and you've already taken off your upper/ lower intake, valve covers, pulleys, alternator, power steering pump, lower oil pan, radiator and whatever else and you cant break that loose with what you have available to you; you just wasted 4-8 hours of your time. Just to give you guys an idea my crank pulley has claimed a 1/2" to 3/8 adaptor and 1-19mm impact socket.Those didn't work so I had to use a 5/8" impact cranked to 150psi to break mine loose, Im sure not everyone has access to that kinda firepower. Moral of the story make sure you have the right tools, and don't ever ****ing use red locktight on a crank pulley bolt.

2. When you split the timing cover, make sure you have a paint pen to make your own markings with... Im not sure how my motor ran with what i was looking at but somehow it did (it didnt look right) and i was confused as ****. Im going to put it back the way the FSM states (if possible) or i will resort to going back to my markings.

Anyway expect to spend 12-16 hours on this if your swapping valve springs out too. Thats a no-**** from the time you pull in to the time you pull out estimate.