Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Engine & Drivetrain > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Photos FAQ Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read ExperienceUsed CarsGarageVendors
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2006, 06:32 PM   #1
backagain
Registered User
 
backagain's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ft Walton Beach FL
Posts: 1,029
Send a message via AIM to backagain
Default Heater not working when car is idle.

I posted this here because guys without FI dont usually have the same issues that us FI guys have. Usually a thing like this happens because of an FI kit.

Ok. it got into the low 50's tonight. This is the first time i've had to use my heater in a LONG time. actually my entire ac hasnt been working right because of a torn white ribbon behind the AC controls. I got that working fine now but when my car is at a stand still the heater will blow cold air. When i start to go again it turns hot QUICK. any reason behind this ? thanks guys.
backagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 06:33 PM   #2
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backagain
I posted this here because guys without FI dont usually have the same issues that us FI guys have. Usually a thing like this happens because of an FI kit.

Ok. it got into the low 50's tonight. This is the first time i've had to use my heater in a LONG time. actually my entire ac hasnt been working right because of a torn white ribbon behind the AC controls. I got that working fine now but when my car is at a stand still the heater will blow cold air. When i start to go again it turns hot QUICK. any reason behind this ? thanks guys.
Could be air in the system or a thermostat. When my thermostat started to die my car was doing the same thing. I just pulled it completely from the car and run no thermostat now. The stock ones has failed on several other cars already...
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 06:38 PM   #3
backagain
Registered User
 
backagain's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ft Walton Beach FL
Posts: 1,029
Send a message via AIM to backagain
Default

shouldnt be air in the system, i havent taken off any coolant lines for air to get in. any way to check the thermostat ? it's no big deal really, just curious as to what it could be. dont use the heater much anyway, and if i do use it im usually not stopping much in the car.
backagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 06:39 PM   #4
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backagain
shouldnt be air in the system, i havent taken off any coolant lines for air to get in. any way to check the thermostat ? it's no big deal really, just curious as to what it could be. dont use the heater much anyway, and if i do use it im usually not stopping much in the car.
Theres no real way to test the thermostat short of removing it from the car and boiling it in a pot to see if it opens. It won't just affect your heater. If it stops opening your car will overheat.
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:13 PM   #5
backagain
Registered User
 
backagain's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ft Walton Beach FL
Posts: 1,029
Send a message via AIM to backagain
Default

but the heater does work when the car is moving, is it possible to still be the theromastat with the heater working then ?
backagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:29 PM   #6
g356gear
Registered User
 
g356gear's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (12)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Man in the Sun
Posts: 2,222
Default

When the rpm's are low the coolant does not circulate through the heater core very well at all.....my Maxima did the same thing. Just bring up the rpm's when you are sitting at a light.
g356gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 08:51 PM   #7
Tortuga
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 517
Points: 3,487, Level: 36
Points: 3,487, Level: 36 Points: 3,487, Level: 36 Points: 3,487, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Same thing happened to me last weekend. Changed coolant out and after refill the heater would blow cold air when I was at a stoplight and hot when car was in motion. Just needed to bleed the air out of the coolant lines. Problem solved.
__________________
04 PPW 6sp Touring, KurumaZ front bumper, Nismo Sides, AUT eyelids, Popcharger, KJR crank pulley, Motordyne 5/16 spacer, Labrees, Borla TD exhaust, JWT clutch/flywheel, HarvesterUT's grounding wires kit, Apexi SAFC II, Tein S-Tech springs, Anthracite Axis Hiros 19x8.5/9.5, Potenza S-03 245/35, 275/35.
Tortuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 09:05 PM   #8
backagain
Registered User
 
backagain's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ft Walton Beach FL
Posts: 1,029
Send a message via AIM to backagain
Default

i'll check it out tomorrow, see if there is any air in the line. i will update you guys later. thanks
backagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 09:10 PM   #9
MrGlass
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 46
Points: 3,749, Level: 38
Points: 3,749, Level: 38 Points: 3,749, Level: 38 Points: 3,749, Level: 38
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MrGlass
Default

Try idling you car for several minutes. If you see your engine temp go up (esp. further than normal), you probably have a coolant flow problem. A coolant line or your heater core could be partially blocked, or your thermostat or water pump could be bad. Any of these things should be fixed quickly, especially on a FI car, because of the heat issues.

If your engine doesn't heat up at idle, then the problem is limited to your heater only. If you can live with it, just ignore it.

I had a water pump go bad on a Mercury Sable I used to have. The impellar blades got chewed up, and spread throughout the cooling system, clogging the radiator, thermostat, and heating core. Major pain in the ***.
MrGlass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:12 AM   #10
barthelb
Master
 
barthelb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,517
Points: 4,359, Level: 42
Points: 4,359, Level: 42 Points: 4,359, Level: 42 Points: 4,359, Level: 42
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Like MIAPLAYA said could be air, if not your thermostat is dying. Make sure you watch your guage cuz your engine will get to hot and throw codes then shut down. This is a problem with being FI. I've gone through 3 thermostats and Im on my 4th, i may do like Mia and not run one. It doesn't get to cold here and my car is always warm....

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIAPLAYA
Could be air in the system or a thermostat. When my thermostat started to die my car was doing the same thing. I just pulled it completely from the car and run no thermostat now. The stock ones has failed on several other cars already...
barthelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:15 AM   #11
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barthelb
Like MIAPLAYA said could be air, if not your thermostat is dying. Make sure you watch your guage cuz your engine will get to hot and throw codes then shut down. This is a problem with being FI. I've gone through 3 thermostats and Im on my 4th, i may do like Mia and not run one. It doesn't get to cold here and my car is always warm....
EXACTLY... After my second stock one died I decided that risking the $150 purchase of nismo one just wasn't worth it so I dumped it all together. Its not bad really. Car takes a few minutes to warm up in the morning. Only other affect was that my cruising water temps went down 15 degrees. No change under high load or track events. Not worth the hassle of pulling to thermostat housing every 2 months if you ask me...
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:41 AM   #12
GMADD
Registered User
 
GMADD's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 510
Default

I have the same problem; it only produces heat passed 3k.

We've bled the system like 4 times with the same result, I had a Nismo low temp. Thermostat installed about a year ago when I did my engine build.

Could the barely one year old Nismo thermostat be at fault?

I don’t drive my car in winter but want it fixed just the same.

I think I'll just buy a new Nismo one and see I it gets better.



Tasso-
__________________
[b]'03 G35 Coupe 5/AT, Greddy TT @ 8psi, Built engine, JWT S2 cams, CJM fuel return,550cc injectors, Crawford cast plenum, Custom 3'' dual HKS exhaust, Stillen sways, Signal Auto Oil Catch Can,Samco sport hoses,19'' Volk TE37 wheels.
GMADD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:41 AM   #13
backagain
Registered User
 
backagain's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ft Walton Beach FL
Posts: 1,029
Send a message via AIM to backagain
Default

can anyone tell me where this is located or have a pic of where it will be incase i need to take it off to test it ?
backagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:45 AM   #14
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backagain
can anyone tell me where this is located or have a pic of where it will be incase i need to take it off to test it ?
The thermostat is located on the drivers side of the motor. Look just below the timing chain cover you will see a skinny and large coolant hose connected to it. You can follow the path of the bypass hose starting on the passenger aand crossing across the front of the motor and going into the thermostat housing. For Turbonetics/Vortech guys its a PAIN to get to. Which is another reason I pulled mine. To answer your question about how long it has been...the Nismo t-stat is no differnt from stock other then a different spring. So yes it could go bad. My first stock t-stat died and two months later the replacement died.
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:47 AM   #15
theking
Registered User
 
theking's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fort Hood, TX
Posts: 919
Points: 3,529, Level: 37
Points: 3,529, Level: 37 Points: 3,529, Level: 37 Points: 3,529, Level: 37
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Here is a pic with it circled. It is the larger hose that is pointed towards the drivers side headlight. I stole it from another thread.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thermo.JPG (64.5 KB, 107 views)
__________________
2004 CBR 1000RR My other ride has 30mm, 2.75 Rockets and Hellfires.
theking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:47 AM   #16
GMADD
Registered User
 
GMADD's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backagain
can anyone tell me where this is located or have a pic of where it will be incase i need to take it off to test it ?

Here you go...

It's the bottom hose from the driver's side.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
[b]'03 G35 Coupe 5/AT, Greddy TT @ 8psi, Built engine, JWT S2 cams, CJM fuel return,550cc injectors, Crawford cast plenum, Custom 3'' dual HKS exhaust, Stillen sways, Signal Auto Oil Catch Can,Samco sport hoses,19'' Volk TE37 wheels.
GMADD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:50 AM   #17
barthelb
Master
 
barthelb's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 2,517
Points: 4,359, Level: 42
Points: 4,359, Level: 42 Points: 4,359, Level: 42 Points: 4,359, Level: 42
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Dont get the NISMO.

Here's what i did. I had my stock one on until 28k Miles when I went turbo.
Part of my build was the Nismo Thermo.
It lasted for about 10K miles and failed.
So I went with another. Then that failed very shortly after.
So I went with a stock one and that has lasted for a while however i got the damn cold heater thing. I wonder why they keep failing, its not rocket science its a damn spring that opens at a certain temp. geez.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMADD
I have the same problem; it only produces heat passed 3k.

We've bled the system like 4 times with the same result, I had a Nismo low temp. Thermostat installed about a year ago when I did my engine build.

Could the barely one year old Nismo thermostat be at fault?

I donít drive my car in winter but want it fixed just the same.

I think I'll just buy a new Nismo one and see I it gets better.



Tasso-
barthelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:56 AM   #18
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barthelb
Dont get the NISMO.

Here's what i did. I had my stock one on until 28k Miles when I went turbo.
Part of my build was the Nismo Thermo.
It lasted for about 10K miles and failed.
So I went with another. Then that failed very shortly after.
So I went with a stock one and that has lasted for a while however i got the damn cold heater thing. I wonder why they keep failing, its not rocket science its a damn spring that opens at a certain temp. geez.
Like I said....screw these things. If you don't live where its 20 below you don't need it anyways. And if you do you should have a block heater
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 10:59 AM   #19
GMADD
Registered User
 
GMADD's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barthelb
Dont get the NISMO.

Here's what i did. I had my stock one on until 28k Miles when I went turbo.
Part of my build was the Nismo Thermo.
It lasted for about 10K miles and failed.
So I went with another. Then that failed very shortly after.
So I went with a stock one and that has lasted for a while however i got the damn cold heater thing. I wonder why they keep failing, its not rocket science its a damn spring that opens at a certain temp. geez.
Thanks for the heads up !

Okay, so getting another Nismo is out.

I guess I'll put the stock one back on.Is Nismo the only option other than stock ?
__________________
[b]'03 G35 Coupe 5/AT, Greddy TT @ 8psi, Built engine, JWT S2 cams, CJM fuel return,550cc injectors, Crawford cast plenum, Custom 3'' dual HKS exhaust, Stillen sways, Signal Auto Oil Catch Can,Samco sport hoses,19'' Volk TE37 wheels.
GMADD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 11:00 AM   #20
MIAPLAYA
Registered User
 
MIAPLAYA's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (3)
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Escondido
Posts: 11,378
Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64 Points: 9,294, Level: 64
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to MIAPLAYA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMADD
Thanks for the heads up !

Okay, so getting another Nismo is out.

I guess I'll put the stock one back on.Is Nismo the only option other than stock ?
Yes it is....just ditch it...not worth the hassle.
__________________
I live my life one quarter pounder at a time...for that ten bites or less....I'm free
2k4 Silverstone Z: Turbonetics Owners Club, Apexi WS2 exhaust, Motordyne Iso Thermal Spacer, etc
I'm so JDM I sleep on the right side of the bed
MIAPLAYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 11:00 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2005, 350z, air, blow, blows, car, cold, heater, i30, idle, idling, infiniti, inop, nissan, stops, working



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overheating once i go past 70 mph n666 Engine & Drivetrain 28 04-27-2010 09:50 AM
Still dont have my car: help guys!!! 350zSteve Engine & Drivetrain 11 06-26-2006 04:28 PM
Potential engine problem....we're stumped failsafe306 Forced Induction 41 10-30-2005 08:26 AM

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright ©2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup