brake boosting a TT 350z. - Page 4 - MY350Z.COM Forums



Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2007, 04:36 AM   #61
MR RIZK
Registered User
iTrader: (7)
 
MR RIZK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,225
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Bringing it back from the dead.. Any updates
MR RIZK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 06:11 AM   #62
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Since this thread was active I got married, went to the Bahamas for my honeymoon, celebrated Christmas and New Years! December was a super busy month for me.

The module is still waiting to be tested. I have someone interested in testing it, I just need to arrange with them to get it tested.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 02:36 PM   #63
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KPierson
Since this thread was active I got married, went to the Bahamas for my honeymoon, celebrated Christmas and New Years! December was a super busy month for me.

The module is still waiting to be tested. I have someone interested in testing it, I just need to arrange with them to get it tested.
Congrats!

Hey, if you need a backup tester, Im willing.
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 10:51 PM   #64
CodeRed30
Registered User
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm interested. My only thing is for base models that have no VDC will there be a different switch needed or something?
CodeRed30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2007, 10:59 PM   #65
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug
of course you couldn't brake boost when you were N/A .. you can't build boost with no form of Forced Induction to begin with.
no need to brake boost if there's "no lag"
you'd already be instantly spooled up the instant you put your foot down at any rpm if there was truely no lag


...sorry I know, back from the dead.
Was reading the viper vs supra thread in the street racing section where the supra was brake boosting and remembered how lots of people believe the Z has no lag whatsoever with turbos

Last edited by sentry65; 01-21-2007 at 11:03 PM.
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 04:17 AM   #66
Alberto
Cranky FI Owner
iTrader: (14)
 
Alberto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: DMV
Posts: 34,721
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sentry65
no need to brake boost if there's "no lag"
you'd already be instantly spooled up the instant you put your foot down at any rpm if there was truely no lag
Taking .2 seconds to reach full boost isnt what I would consider lag. Starting a race in boost/creating boost before you start the race is just that much nastier, so yes, there is a need to brake boost. You saying there isnt is like saying "why do you need a 2 step off the line...."
Alberto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 05:42 AM   #67
doug
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 16,852
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sentry65
no need to brake boost if there's "no lag"
you'd already be instantly spooled up the instant you put your foot down at any rpm if there was truely no lag


...sorry I know, back from the dead.
Was reading the viper vs supra thread in the street racing section where the supra was brake boosting and remembered how lots of people believe the Z has no lag whatsoever with turbos
again.. i made the same post about 50 times.. all 50 times you didn't read what i wrote..

i said... "the myth that SC's have less a Turbo is what it is.. a myth"

never once did i say turbo's have no lag... why the hell would i say that..
doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 07:30 AM   #68
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alberto
Taking .2 seconds to reach full boost isnt what I would consider lag. Starting a race in boost/creating boost before you start the race is just that much nastier, so yes, there is a need to brake boost. You saying there isnt is like saying "why do you need a 2 step off the line...."
I 100% agree with you, .2 seconds isn't much lag at all but it contradicts what doug is saying that it's a myth that .2 seconds of lag is a shorter a amount of time than 0 seconds of lag


doug, I know you said that 50 times. I said 50 times you don't understand the meaning of the word lag

you're confusing lag with the amount of boost, which are different things

to make my point, you can take a SC car and stab at the throttle full on then full off real quick 10 times in a couple seconds and get instant reactive boost every time as fast as you can move your feet. If you try it with a turbo car, the turbos are going to try to spool, but probably not spool into positive amounts of boost. If they do, it's going to be a weird sensation of the car feeling drunk not really getting into boost when you stab the throttle.

And it's not going to be consistent between different rpms. If you wanted to use a high rpm example where the turbo is more responsive to quick stabs of the throttle, then it could be said at high rpms on a SC you're getting around 90-95% full boost instantly reactive to quick throttle stabs

Last edited by sentry65; 01-22-2007 at 08:18 AM.
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 02:32 PM   #69
tig488
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bama
Posts: 4,662
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i have had the vortech and the aps single, boost is WAY more responsive with the aps vs the vortech. i have over a 100 more ftlb of tq than with the vortech at like 3000 rpms. its a completely different feel.
tig488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 02:36 PM   #70
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I wasn't talking about the amount of power actually being made at 3000 rpms or anywhere in the powerband, just how quick the FI kit reacts or is in sync with on/off throttle
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 03:42 PM   #71
tig488
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bama
Posts: 4,662
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah i know. still, comparing the vortech vs the single, like you said, rpms and gear selection are major factors, in a high gear with low rpms, the turbo is very slow to respond, whereas the sc reacts better, but in a low gear, at just about any rpm, the turbo wins everytime. i know you arent talking about numbers, but compare power curves, that directly relates to boost response.
tig488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 04:17 PM   #72
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I know the turbo will win as far as a power curve and boost being made, but I've been refering to the time it takes from hitting the gas to when the turbo spools up (.2 seconds) vs instant positive boost numbers coming from a SC
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 04:24 PM   #73
booger
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
booger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: council bluffs Ia.
Posts: 10,519
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The only problem with that Sentry is that you...we...may be getting 1 maybe 2 psi at 3000rpm and 2 -3 psi at 3500rpm and the TT has just went from 0 to 6-7-8-9psi from 3000 to 3800rpms . Our quicker onset of boost never really gives us any advantage at all .
booger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 04:29 PM   #74
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I know, I'm not saying we have an advantage with boost at low rpms compared to turbos

Just saying there's no lag in response from our FI kit to start making whatever boost that's available at that rpm

Doug's whole theory that "SC's have less lag than turbos is a myth" is crap. I can cite a million sources and books that say otherwise. I WILL say though that with the 350Z's turbos, that statement is more true than say a supra. But the statement itself is not true

SC's have no need to brake boost, the response is instant. But at low rpms they're not going to produce as much boost as a turbo which is a disadvantage.

Last edited by sentry65; 01-22-2007 at 05:32 PM.
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 05:54 PM   #75
taurran
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
taurran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: .
Posts: 9,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Enough of this Turbo vs SC talk. We've heard it all 1000x.

What's up with this brake boosting module that KP was talking about?
taurran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2007, 07:53 PM   #76
Dirty Dave
Registered User
iTrader: (8)
 
Dirty Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: B - low
Posts: 486
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by taurran
Enough of this Turbo vs SC talk. We've heard it all 1000x.

What's up with this brake boosting module that KP was talking about?
Werd ! Has anyone tried disconnecting that pin to see if it works ?
Dirty Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 04:05 AM   #77
doug
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 16,852
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sentry65
SC's have no need to brake boost, the response is instant. But at low rpms they're not going to produce as much boost as a turbo which is a disadvantage.

well your instant response doesn't really mean **** when at 3 PSI less than you i am making more power at ever RPM except after 6000
doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 07:07 AM   #78
sentry65
the burninator
iTrader: (11)
 
sentry65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: phoenix, AZ
Posts: 9,793
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

it does when you're cornering at the limit at part throttle and you can't afford to have more boost than you expected come on after a .2 second delay. Can possibly go off track
sentry65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:46 AM   #79
in2therain3
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 349
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Up from the dead.
Any solutions/updates?
in2therain3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 02:16 AM   #80
KPierson
Banned
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 2,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've got the 'test' module sitting on my bench still. It's never been installed or tested in a car.
KPierson is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocross Brake Pads hajwoj Autocross/Road 27 11-01-2015 05:25 PM
Replacing Tail light issue. 350z82 Exterior & Interior 19 10-01-2015 06:25 PM


Tags
2005, boost, brake, constant, g35, g37, infiniti, infinity, lights, sensor, slip, snow, stay, switch, toggle, vdc, yaw

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.