Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Tire FEATHERING: FYI

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2013, 06:18 AM
nissanZdriver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I plan on replaceing the bushings as well over the winter because I also believe its a bushing issue. But now that i put the car away for the winter I wont be able to post results anytime soon.

Im not a suspension engineer, but ive been reading and thinking about this issue alot and heres how i feel.
I think if they designed the 350z with a double wishbone set up, we wouldnt have this issue. The 370z has a double wish bone. So maybe nissan resolved the issue with there new designed Z? Ive been looking at diagrams and pics of the 350z suspension and I just dont think the single length LCA and compression rod with a rbig rubber bushing are strong or sturdy enough to keep the suspension from flexing or changed its geometry. It looks as if you were to brake or turn hard the LCA and compression rod assy could shift in a front to back motion. With a wishbone style LCA, there are 2 strong mounting points that connect to the chassis and are more stable. So i'm thinking with stronger bushings installed the lower part of the suspension will have less movement.

When I first lowered my civic I had bad inner tire wear due to my toe setting being off. But the wear wasnt choppy, it was an even wear. So i dont believe this is a toe issue. I cant really see it being a camber issue. Hell our back wheels have just as much camber and the toe specs are about the same as the front. Yet my rear tires look and are wearing perfectly.

Oh, and I looked into other suspensions using compression rods. And other manufactures have the CR rod bushing mounted horizontally, so that the rod moves up and down with the suspension. Yet ours is mounted vertically and its putting all this stress on the bushing. I dont know? maybe I dont know what im talking about, but something is not right.