Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-10-2010, 12:18 PM   #21
214_350z
Registered User
 
214_350z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lewisville, Tx
Posts: 38
Default

ok well found the bank 1(passenger side one)...the connector is a grey one, not green >.< and...cannot find the other one
__________________
04 Base Coupe | Tein | | NISMO | JWT | Kinetix | Invidia | Varrstoen | Megan Racing
214_350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 08:17 PM   #22
GrumpyZ
Registered User
 
GrumpyZ's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 48
Points: 4,138, Level: 40
Points: 4,138, Level: 40 Points: 4,138, Level: 40 Points: 4,138, Level: 40
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

mine just started stalling today and throwing the SES,TCS and Slip lights and I checked and got the P0340 CMP (Cam Shaft Position) Sensor (Phase) as well. So any current info on costs and/or DIY options on this would be appreciated
__________________
2004 SB Roadster and 2004 SB Coupe
GrumpyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 05:01 PM   #23
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

P0345 for Bank 2
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:33 PM   #24
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpyZ View Post
mine just started stalling today and throwing the SES,TCS and Slip lights and I checked and got the P0340 CMP (Cam Shaft Position) Sensor (Phase) as well. So any current info on costs and/or DIY options on this would be appreciated

My car threw both codes P0340 and 0345 I just paid 142. shipped bank 1 sensor is 57 and bank 2 was 71.


http://www.everythingnissanparts.com...-al61a-z33.htm
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 03:53 AM   #25
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

I pulled my cam sensors out and they were covered in oil so I cleaned the passenger side off and the code went away for that side I swapped the driver side to the new sensor and still having starting issues. I decided to change both see if it'd start and nothing. All fueses were good no codes thrown either could it be a crank sensor? I did change that once already a while back.

I did take some pictures so everyone can see where the driver side sensor sits.
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/3410/img1011copy.jpg

This is the passenger side harness. Push where the arrow is in same direction until you hear it snaps off.
http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/5972/img1007lw.jpg

Passenger side sensor
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/4135/img0999y.jpg

driver side
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/6404/img1005dk.jpg
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 02:05 PM   #26
skunk281
Registered User
 
skunk281's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Posts: 70
Points: 1,496, Level: 21
Points: 1,496, Level: 21 Points: 1,496, Level: 21 Points: 1,496, Level: 21
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Thank you for this very helpful!! Just had to replace mine and didn't know which sensor I needed. Now I know.
__________________
Skunk281 - 03 Track K&N ~ Motordyne
skunk281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:53 AM   #27
dkmesa350z
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (40)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,779
Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cux350z View Post
what! nissan charged me 90 bucks for one.

which bank is broken? It should say it in the code.

bank 1 is on the battery side, bank 2 is on the brake ms side (usdm models) Bank1 takes 10 minutes to replace. If youve got a 3/8 ratchet and a 10mm deep socket youre set. Bank 2 takes about 30-45 mins. You have to remove the intake and throttle body. Then all youll need are a 10mm deep and your 3/8" drive. Do not let the dealer jerk you around with their obscene labor cost. Be sure to disconnect the battery before working. Once done, do the technosquare ecu reset.
Does anyone know if P0340 is for Bank 1 ONLY or Bank 1 and Bank 2? When I scanned with my cheap OBD-II scanner, I don't recall it specifying which bank.

Thanks.
dkmesa350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:24 PM   #28
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmesa350z View Post
Does anyone know if P0340 is for Bank 1 ONLY or Bank 1 and Bank 2? When I scanned with my cheap OBD-II scanner, I don't recall it specifying which bank.

Thanks.


P0340 is Bank 1
P0345 Bank 2
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:07 PM   #29
dkmesa350z
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (40)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,779
Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35cTT View Post
P0340 is Bank 1
P0345 Bank 2
Thanks. I replaced Bank 1 last week and am good to go.
dkmesa350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:17 PM   #30
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkmesa350z View Post
Thanks. I replaced Bank 1 last week and am good to go.


I guess you already had the answer then.

Sure there's a bunch of sites that have this list but here's one site for reference if you need to look up a code or description.



http://www.nissanhelp.com/diy/obd_codes/index.php
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 05:55 PM   #31
dkmesa350z
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (40)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,779
Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45 Points: 4,970, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 0.4%
Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4% Today's Activity: 0.4%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35cTT View Post
I guess you already had the answer then.

Sure there's a bunch of sites that have this list but here's one site for reference if you need to look up a code or description.



http://www.nissanhelp.com/diy/obd_codes/index.php
Thanks, I appreciate it. Yeah, I found a similar list on the 350z - tech.com wiki
dkmesa350z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 02:30 AM   #32
Brando222
Ziologist
 
Brando222's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 413
Points: 4,884, Level: 44
Points: 4,884, Level: 44 Points: 4,884, Level: 44 Points: 4,884, Level: 44
Today's Activity: 0.6%
Today's Activity: 0.6% Today's Activity: 0.6% Today's Activity: 0.6%
Send a message via AIM to Brando222
Default

Don't know if you guys are aware that there is a recall on the camshaft and crank sensors, they will replace both. This applies to 03's only though, and on top of that for a very limited VIN range. I think we need to get this recall expanded!

http://www.automotive.com/2003/49/ni...lls/78405.html

Last edited by Brando222; 10-18-2010 at 03:01 PM..
Brando222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 12:28 PM   #33
jgruberman
Registered User
 
jgruberman's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 59
Points: 1,143, Level: 18
Points: 1,143, Level: 18 Points: 1,143, Level: 18 Points: 1,143, Level: 18
Today's Activity: 1.6%
Today's Activity: 1.6% Today's Activity: 1.6% Today's Activity: 1.6%
Send a message via AIM to jgruberman Send a message via MSN to jgruberman Send a message via Yahoo to jgruberman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G35cTT View Post
I pulled my cam sensors out and they were covered in oil so I cleaned the passenger side off and the code went away for that side I swapped the driver side to the new sensor and still having starting issues. I decided to change both see if it'd start and nothing. All fueses were good no codes thrown either could it be a crank sensor? I did change that once already a while back.

I did take some pictures so everyone can see where the driver side sensor sits.
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/3410/img1011copy.jpg

This is the passenger side harness. Push where the arrow is in same direction until you hear it snaps off.
http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/5972/img1007lw.jpg

Passenger side sensor
http://img709.imageshack.us/img709/4135/img0999y.jpg

driver side
http://img535.imageshack.us/img535/6404/img1005dk.jpg
This is resurrecting a dead thread, but I wanted to officially say thanks for the pics because they helped me help Autozone differentiate between "front" and "rear"... while it should be passenger/driver.

Also a side note... did you take those pictures with the Hubble telescope?
__________________
<--- Want a drink full of asbestos and brick?
jgruberman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:17 PM   #34
G35cTT
Registered User
 
G35cTT's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 471
G35Turbo
Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31 Points: 2,707, Level: 31
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brando222 View Post
Don't know if you guys are aware that there is a recall on the camshaft and crank sensors, they will replace both. This applies to 03's only though, and on top of that for a very limited VIN range. I think we need to get this recall expanded!

http://www.automotive.com/2003/49/ni...lls/78405.html
Mines 04 but seriously they need to expand since they're the same sensors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgruberman View Post
This is resurrecting a dead thread, but I wanted to officially say thanks for the pics because they helped me help Autozone differentiate between "front" and "rear"... while it should be passenger/driver.

Also a side note... did you take those pictures with the Hubble telescope?
A picture is worth a thousand words, or something like that.
With a Costco Canon 790 point/shoot digital cam
__________________
G35Turbo: GReddy TT: 534HP/510TQ 1.3bar
G35cTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 03:46 PM   #35
NAZ33
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (2)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MIAMI,FL
Posts: 28
Points: 1,375, Level: 20
Points: 1,375, Level: 20 Points: 1,375, Level: 20 Points: 1,375, Level: 20
Today's Activity: 1.1%
Today's Activity: 1.1% Today's Activity: 1.1% Today's Activity: 1.1%
Default

Hey guys, after been having issues with my Z, thanks god to this thread, i found the problem, i just replaced the sensor (bank1), but im still having issues, the same thing, rpms goes down and i feel like the car is going to die, so i put the error code reader and i found out that now is the (bank 2) :s :S, it is crazy huh?? so i recommend you guys, if you are going to replace just one sensor think on replace all of them.......
__________________
06 Z33 Daytona Blue Z33 (BASE)/91 S13 RB25DET
NAZ33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:58 AM   #36
BlueDragonZ
Registered User
 
BlueDragonZ's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (11)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MAUI, HI
Posts: 1,032
Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Well the problem returned. Its showing me the P0345 code twice...?? What does that mean when its the same code? Also since i already had this problem back in '09 is there a bigger issue here?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDragonZ View Post
Borrowed an OBD II reader and got this code..

Click the image to open in full size.

MEANING:
http://www.obd-codes.com/p0340

Last edited by BlueDragonZ; 05-23-2011 at 10:45 AM..
BlueDragonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 11:58 AM   #37
BlueDragonZ
Registered User
 
BlueDragonZ's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (11)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MAUI, HI
Posts: 1,032
Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

DAMN! I forgot how i removed this thing last time. I dont want to just pull on it.
BlueDragonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 03:19 PM   #38
BlueDragonZ
Registered User
 
BlueDragonZ's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (11)
Join Date: May 2003
Location: MAUI, HI
Posts: 1,032
Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46 Points: 5,201, Level: 46
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Finally got it out and the sensor is covered in oil...? Also looks like the connector itself has some oil in it.

Last edited by BlueDragonZ; 05-23-2011 at 04:01 PM..
BlueDragonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 10:05 PM   #39
Ash33
Registered User
 
Trader Score: (9)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 97
Points: 2,468, Level: 30
Points: 2,468, Level: 30 Points: 2,468, Level: 30 Points: 2,468, Level: 30
Today's Activity: 1.0%
Today's Activity: 1.0% Today's Activity: 1.0% Today's Activity: 1.0%
Default

figured id throw my 2 cents in on this because this problem just popped up with mine as well.....

i took a hard turn (about 120 degrees) and felt a pop,, vehicle lost power, and SES, TCS, and SLIP lights all came on... car ran fine for me after but i wasnt gonna push my luck... scanned for codes and pulled P0340 -- camshaft position sensor bank 1 (aka passenger side CPS)... i was just going to order mine from the local parts store (only $37) when my nissan mechanic buddy sent me this:

Recall Date:
NOV 17, 2003
Model Affected:
2003 Nissan 350Z
Summary:
ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES, THE CIRCUIT BOARD FOR THE CRANK POSITION SENSOR OR CAM POSITION SENSOR MAY HAVE AN IMPROPER SOLDER JOINT DUE TO SOLDER DEFORMATION CAUSED BY HEAT STRESS ACCELERATED BY THE EXISTENCE OF FLUX RESIDUE DURING THE SOLDERING PROCESS.
Consequences:
THIS COULD CAUSE THE "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" WARNING LIGHT TO COME ON, CREATE A NO START CONDITION, CAUSE REDUCED ENGINE POWER, OR CAUSE THE ENGINE TO STOP RUNNING WITHOUT WARNING DURING VEHICLE OPERATION, WHICH COULD RESULT IN A CRASH.
Remedy:
DEALERS WILL REPLACE THE CRANK POSITION SENSORS. CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR(S), AND IN SOME CASES, THE VARIABLE TIMING CONTROL SENSOR(S). VEHICLES INVOLVED IN A PREVIOUS RECALL CAMPAIGN, 01V357, ARE ALSO INCLUDED IN THIS NEW CAMPAIGN. THE REPLACEMENT SENSORS USED IN THAT CAMPAIGN ARE ALSO AFFECTED. OWNER NOTIFICATION BEGAN ON DECEMBER 22, 2003. OWNERS SHOULD CONTACT NISSAN AT 1-800-647-7261 OR INFINITI AT 1-800-662-6200.
Potential Units Affected:
630000

Read more: http://www.motortrend.com/cars/2003/...#ixzz1W0uJC8Up


--- im not able to bring my vehicle down to them tho because theres very little chance it will make the 57 mile trip down the highway but if you have a 2003 model,, you might wanna call the number there or your local dealership first... its an open ended TSB for this issue (meaning there is no mileage or age timeframe you have to be under)... it IS VIN SPECIFIC tho so call first...

or you can do it yourself.. if you have to replace both youre looking in the area of $80 to $100 for both of them (denso sensors btw if youre squeamish about auto parts store sensors)... if the VTC sensors are bad too,, well,, you dont wanna kno how much...

Last edited by Ash33; 08-24-2011 at 10:09 PM..
Ash33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 06:49 AM   #40
DemetriZ
Registered User
 
DemetriZ's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 48
Points: 2,428, Level: 29
Points: 2,428, Level: 29 Points: 2,428, Level: 29 Points: 2,428, Level: 29
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via AIM to DemetriZ
Default

Thanks for posting this up with pics..Had the same problem Cel light, TCS light, and slip would stay on after a hard start. i replaced mine, bank 1 Green connector passenger side AKA "rear". Now the car runs so much better, faster accleration and throttle response. Got mine from autozone $53.
Remember to reset ecu after installing because the cel light will still come on if you dont. Disconnect battery, pump brakes 5 times, and let it sit for 2hours. Reconnect battery and your all set.
Thanks to ASH33 for posting recall info on this for an 03'
__________________
99% of Z owners have gotten a Speed Related Traffic Citation. If you are part of the 1% who has NOT, Put this in your sig!
DemetriZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 06:49 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
04, 05, 350z, bank, cam, camshaft, cps, position, positioning, price, problem, remove, replace, sensor, switch, throttle



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup