Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default Problem: Horn wont work.

Hey guys,

Well replaced my OEM steering wheel with a Momo hub and Sparco steering wheel. Had that on for about 9 months and the horn worked fine. Now I brought and installed a Works Bell hub and Quick Release with Personal wheel.

Now no horn. I know the horn works because when I lock the car the horns sound. Double checked my wires on the hub they are all good. Went back and put the Sparco back on and again no horn.

Checked the horn relay fuse and the horn fuse. They were both good. So now I'm kinda at a stand still now, I have no idea what else could be the problem.

Any advise on where to check from here would be great. Yelling at people out my window doesn't seem to work

Thanks

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:49 AM   #2
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

anybody?

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:59 AM   #3
HondaKiller
Banned
 
HondaKiller's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (5)
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,140
Points: 2,103, Level: 27
Points: 2,103, Level: 27 Points: 2,103, Level: 27 Points: 2,103, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

not the same circumstance but maybe helpful. When i was wiring up my amp/subs i installed a base **** (JL Audio). Well, i couldn't find an accesible ground to ground the **** against so i took the ground wire from the windsheild wipers and used that. Said "hell why not" spliced it in there threw it backtogether and BAM no windsheild wipers. Did you double ground something to the horns ground? Smack me if that is unhelpful
HondaKiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 12:14 PM   #4
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaKiller
not the same circumstance but maybe helpful. When i was wiring up my amp/subs i installed a base **** (JL Audio). Well, i couldn't find an accesible ground to ground the **** against so i took the ground wire from the windsheild wipers and used that. Said "hell why not" spliced it in there threw it backtogether and BAM no windsheild wipers. Did you double ground something to the horns ground? Smack me if that is unhelpful

Interesting, I'll have to check but off the top of my head I doubt that there is anything else grounded to the horns.

Thanks

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:07 PM   #5
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

ok checked nothing else running to the horns.

Anybody have any good ideas at what could be the problem?

Thanks

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 09:28 PM   #6
350ZTheStandard
Registered User
 
350ZTheStandard's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (4)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NEW AMERICA
Posts: 8,981
Points: 4,954, Level: 45
Points: 4,954, Level: 45 Points: 4,954, Level: 45 Points: 4,954, Level: 45
Today's Activity: 12.9%
Today's Activity: 12.9% Today's Activity: 12.9% Today's Activity: 12.9%
Default

So i guess you'll have to go back to "the finger" not nearly as loud as the horn but people know where you are coming from.
__________________
chewwwy momma, hot diggety & shazam, be manly & have a good day.
350ZTheStandard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 10:22 AM   #7
Eazzy
Registered User
 
Eazzy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Barackville
Posts: 8,352
Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Horns many times have constant power going to them and are actuated by a Ground Circuit in your steering wheel. Chk that ground and jump it manually to see if the horn blows
__________________
Nevermind. I'm putting you on ignore - you don't say a thing worth saying.........stefanZ
Eazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 12:34 PM   #8
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eazzy
Horns many times have constant power going to them and are actuated by a Ground Circuit in your steering wheel. Chk that ground and jump it manually to see if the horn blows

how would I jump it manually ?

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:06 PM   #9
Eazzy
Registered User
 
Eazzy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Barackville
Posts: 8,352
Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TayTaythatsme04
how would I jump it manually ?

T
FUKC ---I JUST ERASED THIS WHOLE DAMN EXPLANATION !!!!


In a nut shell ---expose activator --there is a ground that is isolated ---Take a piece of wire ----Ground it and see if the horn works ---if it does then your built in actuator is not doing its job
__________________
Nevermind. I'm putting you on ignore - you don't say a thing worth saying.........stefanZ
Eazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:08 PM   #10
Eazzy
Registered User
 
Eazzy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Barackville
Posts: 8,352
Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

By rights you need to chk continuity's --etc
__________________
Nevermind. I'm putting you on ignore - you don't say a thing worth saying.........stefanZ
Eazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:11 PM   #11
Eazzy
Registered User
 
Eazzy's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (8)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Barackville
Posts: 8,352
Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48 Points: 5,742, Level: 48
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Electricity is like water in a hose ---If you turn it on and you get no water at the end ---Make sure your source is working, then walk down the hose until you find the problem ----Much is eliminated by manually activating devices
__________________
Nevermind. I'm putting you on ignore - you don't say a thing worth saying.........stefanZ
Eazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:15 PM   #12
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

got ya, I tried "grounding it with horn buttons from 3 other *****, but I try and ground it with just a wire.

Thanks Eazzy

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:21 PM   #13
Crom
Sleeps in 350Z
 
Crom's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (47)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 3,463
Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Today's Activity: 2.5%
Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5%
Default

On my works hub I just connected the ground to the metal tab on the bezel ring
that comes w/ the kit and it works fine...
__________________
<< TRACK HEADLIGHT COVERS >>
Thanks to teh Sponsors : Corner3 Garage, RHD Japan, APP, Goliath Construction
Crom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:37 PM   #14
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

you connected the horn ground??

the wire coming from the spiral cable ?

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:03 PM   #15
Crom
Sleeps in 350Z
 
Crom's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (47)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 3,463
Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Today's Activity: 2.5%
Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5%
Default

The cable w/ the grey connector that plugs in to the oem port has a hot wire and a ground, i grounded to that bezel ring tab...the ground from the horn button itself could also ground to this but already should be grounded cause both metal surfaces are touching. make sure you're not trying to ground the power wire. - I think they are both black on the works cable.
__________________
<< TRACK HEADLIGHT COVERS >>
Thanks to teh Sponsors : Corner3 Garage, RHD Japan, APP, Goliath Construction
Crom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:11 PM   #16
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

ok the connector has a black wire coming from it. I have that plugged into the red wiring running throw the QR to the horn button.

then I have the two black wires in the QR connected to the two metal rings that come with the QR.

Im I missing something or is that what you have Crom?

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:55 PM   #17
Crom
Sleeps in 350Z
 
Crom's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (47)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 3,463
Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Today's Activity: 2.5%
Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5%
Default

This is what I have...
Attached Thumbnails
Problem: Horn wont work.-untitled-1.jpg  
__________________
<< TRACK HEADLIGHT COVERS >>
Thanks to teh Sponsors : Corner3 Garage, RHD Japan, APP, Goliath Construction
Crom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:58 PM   #18
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crom
This is what I have...

yup thats what I got too.
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:11 PM   #19
Crom
Sleeps in 350Z
 
Crom's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (47)
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 3,463
Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53 Points: 6,698, Level: 53
Today's Activity: 2.5%
Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5% Today's Activity: 2.5%
Default

Do you have a dif horn button to test...
__________________
<< TRACK HEADLIGHT COVERS >>
Thanks to teh Sponsors : Corner3 Garage, RHD Japan, APP, Goliath Construction
Crom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:23 PM   #20
TayTaythatsme04
Registered User

 
TayTaythatsme04's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (68)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,442
Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43 Points: 4,677, Level: 43
Today's Activity: 0.5%
Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5% Today's Activity: 0.5%
Send a message via AIM to TayTaythatsme04 Send a message via Yahoo to TayTaythatsme04
Default

tried three different buttons

T
__________________
2004 Soon not to be Super Black anymore

"It's easy to sit back on your a$$, sipping coffee and never having to develop traits like Honor, Courage, and Self Sacrifice when you live in a country NOBODY wants to invade."
TayTaythatsme04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 04:23 PM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2004, 350, 350z, 350zz, bell, doesnt, horn, hub, istall, nissan, problem, problems, wont, work, works



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup