Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to my350z.com!
Welcome to my350z.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2009, 10:43 AM   #1
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default Window Rolls down when I close the door/ AUTO up/down don't work

Cleaned my window motor because it was getting stuck down. Everything went pretty straight forward and put it all back together correctly. I go to do the window reset procedure and I complete it. I open the door to get out and the window cracks open like its supposed to, so I think all is well.
Then I close the door and the window rolls down almost all the way....WTF???

I test the Auto up/down function and auto down will roll it down about 5 inches and then stop. Auto up sounds like the motor engages for a moment and then changes its mind.

I've probably done the reset procedure 50 times the correct way last night to no avail. I thought maybe something is inhibiting it, so just to test it I did the reset procedure with a C-clamp on the door closed switch. Even though the door is open and nothing is blocking the window, as soon as I push the door closed switch, the window rolls down.

I've probably done the reset procedure 50 times in different ways (holding the reset switch down AND up....etc) that I could think of and nothing has worked.

I've researched that it might be the BCM but that doesnt make any sense because both windows would be acting up. The window motor works like a champ now so I know its not the motor...

It might be the regulator but I'm not sure what/where that is...

Anyone found a solution to this or have any ideas?


Edit: This is the drivers side window, the passenger side works fine. I also have the KP technologies window module but I've tried the reset with the module both plugged in and unplugged and its no different.

Last edited by island03z; 08-25-2009 at 10:46 AM.
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 11:51 AM   #2
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

I just realized something...
Does anyone know if the window wire/cable has a coil spring or something that helps it roll the window up?

When I uninstalled the motor, the window was in the up position but then slid down....after I cleaned it I installed it while it was still in the down position, not to mention a couple turns of the motor without it connected to the window while i was testing it.

If there is a spring, could it be possible that the tension on the spring is fighting the motor causing it to think that theres something blocking the window and therefore rolling it down?
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:38 PM   #3
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Nope...to answer my own question for anyone that cares, there's no spring on the cable coil....

went back into the door and took the entire motor apart....behind the round silver casing on the motor is a planetary gear set whose sole purpose is to translate the distance required to roll the window up into circular rotational distance about the circumference of the outer gear which presses an up limit switch when the window reaches the top of travel...

The window reset switch isn't even a switch, its just a little rubber piece that holds the outer planetary gear from spinning as the window travels down...

So the motor works fine, the gear set works fine, the uplimit switch works fine...so it can't be the motor....
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 03:45 PM   #4
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Figured I'd post some pictures for anyone wondering what the rest of the motor consisted of. Sorry about the picture quality it was taken with my iphone and I dont own a real camera anymore...


Picture of the "Window Reset Button" removed....you can see the outer ring gear that it holds down
Click the image to open in full size.


Planetary ring gear set
Click the image to open in full size.


The little black switch at the top of the rings is the uplimit switch
Click the image to open in full size.
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 10:35 PM   #5
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Bump...anyone have any ideas why my window rolls down when the door close switch is pushed? anything really...I'd hate to have to start replacing parts blindly
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 09:50 PM   #6
st8king
Registered User
 
st8king's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 41
Points: 2,067, Level: 27
Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to st8king Send a message via Yahoo to st8king
Default

I had the same problem like six months ago I took it to the dealership and they said a wire had simply come loose and they reconnected it and not problems since. Not sure if that is helpful hope that it is somehow. They only charged me the diagnostic fee since it was such a simple fix.

Rich
st8king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 06:20 AM   #7
j.arnaldo
Banned
 
j.arnaldo's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: puerto rico
Posts: 2,886
Default

...just one of the three little nuisances in our beaZts!
j.arnaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:00 PM   #8
st8king
Registered User
 
st8king's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 41
Points: 2,067, Level: 27
Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Send a message via MSN to st8king Send a message via Yahoo to st8king
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay'Z View Post
If you tell me what wire.. It will be very helpful!!
The invoice says "Found left door handle micro switch not connected reconnected and tested to resolve."

I hope that helps you.

Rich

Last edited by st8king; 09-16-2009 at 01:03 PM.
st8king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:17 AM   #9
j.arnaldo
Banned
 
j.arnaldo's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: puerto rico
Posts: 2,886
Default

...AutoZone...
j.arnaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 02:25 PM   #10
island03z
Registered User
 
island03z's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (6)
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 235
Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36 Points: 3,416, Level: 36
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Thanks for the reply Jay'z

I checked what your problem was but none of my prongs were bent. I even put my switches into another friend's Z and his window worked perfectly. I switched my motor into his car though and his window started doing the same thing so I knew then it was the motor.

I proceeded to take the motor apart and as soon as I took the shaft out there were a bunch of broken magnet pieces stuck to it. Apparently there is a magnetic ring on the motor and a sensor on the outside of the case that I'm guessing counts how many turns it makes to know what position it's in.

I doubt I can find a new magnet the right size anywhere around so I guess I'm shelling out the money for a new motor. For anyone doing the window cleaning, be very careful, that magnetic ring is very fragile.
island03z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:02 AM   #11
Shiro
Registered User
 
Shiro's Avatar
 
Trader Score: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 23
Points: 1,787, Level: 24
Points: 1,787, Level: 24 Points: 1,787, Level: 24 Points: 1,787, Level: 24
Today's Activity: 0%
Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0% Today's Activity: 0%
Default

Well for what its worth the same thing is happening to me. I did the DIY clean thing on the drivers side and it worked perfectly for 4 months now back to the same thing. Slam the door to get it to go up.

UGH so for the passenger side did the DIY thing and the motor just wouldnt work so I replaced the motor with a new (reman) one from AutoZone or one of those. worked well for a while then the auto-up quit working. started doing the same thing it will bump down when it gets to the top! the motors eve re-manufactured are like 115 bucks or something. What to do?!?!?!
Shiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:02 AM
MyG37
Infiniti G37




Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
350z, auto, door, g37, infiniti, limit, motor, reset, resetting, rolls, slid, switch, updown, window, windows



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

ADVERTISING
INSURANCE CENTER

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Advertise on MY350Z.COM - Terms of Service - Privacy Statement - Jobs
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.

Admin control Panel Backup