Unlocking door opens trunk?? - MY350Z.COM Forums

Go Back   MY350Z.COM Forums > 350Z Tech Area > Maintenance & Repair



Unlocking door opens trunk??

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2011, 07:18 AM   #1
dragonfire6
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
dragonfire6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: sunny fla
Posts: 247
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Unlocking door opens trunk??

This just started yesterday...

I got to a friends house after a 30 minute drive and while the car is still on, the trunk popped itself open while I'm sitting inside the car. While it was popped open, I could hear the actuator triggering itself like someone was pressing the unlock button for the trunk over and over. If I closed the trunk it would just open itself up again but that thankfully stopped today.

Now, the trunk stays closed but if I press the door unlock button on the fob or the door, it activates the trunk actuator and pops the trunk open. Also noticed my windows aren't moving up that extra 1/3 inch when I close the doors with them rolled up.

What's going on here??
__________________
I'm looking for: Lowering Springs & Black/Gold/Bronze Rims!!! PM ME
dragonfire6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:26 AM   #2
DavesZ#3
350Z-holic
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15,888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Try other fob? If another fob unlocks without trunk popping, then the problem is in the first fob. If second fob pops trunk too, then you have a problem in the BCM (body control module).
__________________
2004.5 Daytona Blue Track ... Gone


New to MY350Z? Have a question? Please read this thread first: Top 100 Questions Thread (CLICK)
DavesZ#3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 07:53 AM   #3
dragonfire6
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
dragonfire6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: sunny fla
Posts: 247
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ...

2nd fob does the same thing, so BCM it is

If this makes any difference, it is only the initial unlock that will open the trunk. The 2nd press to unlock the passenger side door will not trigger the trunk or any press thereafter...
__________________
I'm looking for: Lowering Springs & Black/Gold/Bronze Rims!!! PM ME
dragonfire6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 11:01 AM   #4
metalguru
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
metalguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SC
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had this same problem. It was the hatch release switch (the rubber covered button under the hatch). The switch contacts get stuck in the hatch open position. I just kept pressing the release button, and eventually the contacts in the switch released. If it happens again, I guess I'll have to replace the switch. Hope this helps.
metalguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:52 PM   #5
fury350
Registered User
iTrader: (0)
 
fury350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shaw, South Carolina
Posts: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fbody9510
Default

just started my own post kindof similar to this.
http://my350z.com/forum/maintenance-...k-problem.html

also, after reading your problem, i noticed that my passenger window wasn't automatically going up/down when the door opens like its supposed to either. i dont have a fob, so im still not sure as to what is the problem.
fury350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:00 AM   #6
ovalnegri
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
ovalnegri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalguru View Post
...It was the hatch release switch (the rubber covered button under the hatch)
How to you change that button? I'm kinda curious because this has just started happening to me too.
__________________
"Road, seat, a$$, the end" - Jeremy Clarkson

Last edited by ovalnegri; 11-15-2011 at 04:56 PM.
ovalnegri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 01:07 AM   #7
SkyZ33
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
SkyZ33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sam Wang SkyVQ35DE
Send a message via MSN to SkyZ33
Default

Anyone solve this problem yet? because I just now got the same issue.....
SkyZ33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:06 AM   #8
122554
Registered User
iTrader: (9)
 
122554's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 543
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If it is the BCM, try resetting it by disconnecting the negative lead on the battery for 15 minutes
__________________
I don't always drink beer, but when I do,.....I drink a lot!
122554 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2003 Touring Edition 350z-6MT-2Tone-40K Miles - $14k - NJ ars88 Zs & Gs For Sale 15 01-02-2016 08:18 AM
FS: Sparco Helmet Carbon Fiber WTX-7 Air BNIB must see Gruppe-S Body Interior 12 12-20-2015 12:07 AM
(OEM) FS: BNIB Reverse Light Switch BOATS N HOES Lighting 1 10-13-2015 10:07 AM
BAD Mouse Problem!!! 3vilbunny Exterior & Interior 17 10-08-2015 08:19 AM
Uprev can't find ecu all of a sudden? hulkout Tuning 1 09-30-2015 01:33 PM


Tags
350z, actuator, bcm, black, car, door, found, issues, open, opens, popping, rubber, track, trunk, unlock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Copyright 2002 - 2008, MY350Z.COM All Rights Reserved.