Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Clutch pedal return/bleed issues

Old 05-04-2011, 09:46 PM
Boosted Performance
Vendor - Former Vendor

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Clutch pedal return/bleed issues

Ok, so I spent about 1.5 hours messing around with this dam clutch pedal and it not returning all the way up after a shift. Did a complete fluid flush, so that is not the problem, bled it for 30 minutes…no improvement.

It stops about ¾ of the way back, and that is it. I can return it all the way by pulling it up, it then “pops” in place. I am not an expert in this area, but what is supposed to return the clutch pedal all the way back? For some reason I don’t think I am getting the full range of motion on the withdrawal lever. There is about ¾” of travel at the operating cylinder (in/out movement) when the clutch is pressed/depressed. Should there be more?

Also what is the purpose of that giant spring at the very top? The way it is engineered it does not seem to do much, it travels more up/down than in/out.

Last edited by Boosted Performance; 05-05-2011 at 05:30 AM.
Old 05-04-2011, 11:54 PM
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 2,283 Likes on 1,645 Posts

There is crap built up in the master, pull the master out and disassemble, clean it. Also when you do that, just pay the $15 for the Nissan rebuild kit and replace the internals of the master.
Old 05-05-2011, 06:28 AM
Boosted Performance
Vendor - Former Vendor

Originally Posted by terrasmak
There is crap built up in the master, pull the master out and disassemble, clean it. Also when you do that, just pay the $15 for the Nissan rebuild kit and replace the internals of the master.
Just called the dealership, not a single rebuild kit in the country (Canada). I may take it out anyway and see what is going on...just frustrting when you go and try to fix a small problem and it turns in to a larger one.