Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

Couple questions on engine removal (searched)

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2014, 03:23 AM
florotory

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by speedmon
I'm kinda new to 350s.....but I think you can access the upper oil pan by disconnecting the front suspension and dropping the front cradle....seems like a lot less work....to me....I could be wrong.

If I pulled the engine I'd be too tempted rebuild it.....and the trans and throw in a new clutch assembly as well.

Your engine and bay look really clean though....

Good luck with the project.

On the AC recharge...you could probably manage that yourself...child's play compared to what you are doing.
Look on YouTube......AC recharge...Look for the Eric the Car guy video.....step by step. Eezy-peezy
It can be done both ways but both are large amount of work. I figured I'd pull the motor to make it easier to do a few other things as we'll. I plan on changing timing chain tensioner, water pump, and spark plugs as well. I may go ahead and get some headers as well since it's out. The clutch not needed cause it's an auto
Old 04-25-2014, 03:31 AM
florotory

I should be able to have the motor out today. All that's left is removing the drive shaft, tranny mount , engine mount and linkage. I'm sure I forgot to disconnect something so that as we'll lol
Old 04-25-2014, 09:02 AM
3hree5ive0ero
Retired Admin

Received 78 Likes on 50 Posts

What did you do with the PS lines/cooler? Did you just disconnect and drain?
Old 04-25-2014, 09:11 AM
florotory

Well motor is out. Prepping the engine bay now for pressure wash.

Yes I disconnected everything. The car has 115k on it an driven by a woman who didn't change fluids properly lol. So I'm changing everything. Figured it's out so might as well do it while it's easy to get to
Old 04-25-2014, 10:56 AM
350zadam

Nice, can't wait to see how this goes.
Old 04-25-2014, 03:01 PM
florotory

Couple questions.