Notices
Maintenance & Repair 350Z up keep and diagnosing/fixing problems

2004 Touring 6MT Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2016, 07:27 PM
DetroitZ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Touring 6MT Help

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting in a forum so please bare with me.

I have a 2004 350z Touring with a manual transmission. I've had the car for about 7k miles (currently at 150k miles.) This is my first Z I've ever owned.

The car runs great except for one issue: shifting from a dead stop.

If the car is in movement, shifting is kinda clunky but it manages. Ideally, it could be smoother and I would prefer for it to be, but I can get around it. However, the main issue is while I'm at a dead stop. If I attempt to go into 1st gear, I will have to try at least 5-6 times. I've given gas while trying to put it into gear, I've attempted going into other gears then back into 1st. No matter what combination of things I do, it does not go in smoothly. However, once I get it into gear after awhile, it'll slide into any other gear very easily. Literally with no hesitation at all...ideally, it should be like that all the time though.

In short, I can not engage into any gear while I'm at a dead stop unless I mess with it for awhile, not JUST 1st gear.

Sometimes it takes awhile of messing with it before I can even get into gear, this has caused traffic issues with people stuck behind me while I'm trying to shove it into 1st gear.

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.
Old 09-28-2016, 08:09 PM
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 3,253 Likes on 2,314 Posts

Originally Posted by DetroitZ
Hi everyone, this is my first time posting in a forum so please bare with me.

I have a 2004 350z Touring with a manual transmission. I've had the car for about 7k miles (currently at 150k miles.) This is my first Z I've ever owned.

The car runs great except for one issue: shifting from a dead stop.