Notices
Motorsports The Z in its Natural Habitat

AutoX's: I need your help!

Old 07-14-2003, 06:59 AM
peptidbond

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AutoX's: I need your help!

Good morning,

Well, after thinking about it for some time, I have decided to participate in a local SCCA Solo II autocross event. This is something that I have wanted to do for a very long time and it is one of the reasons that I sold my sedan for a sports car. However, I am totally new to this, so I need your help. If you are very familiar with autocross events, please help.

I have already contacted the organizers and read through rules, safety requirements, FAQs, and etiquette do's and dont's (no burning tires before race?). At any rate, now what I need is some vehicle specific information and other tips about racing autocross that will help me out. Here are some general questions that I have. If you have more info, please feel free to share.

1. I have not seen an image of a course. What are they like? Open with lots of straights? Compact with many chacaines (spelling)? Do you have any example images you could post?

2. A FAQ I read said to show up with 42 PSI in the tires and then ask someone for a good number. That way, you can let out what you don't need. What is best for the Track Z with stock tires?

3. I still have not found information on number of laps or how staging works. What is the typical number of laps? When it is time to race, what is the appropriate way to enter the grid? Any other etiquette information about starting would help.

4. I know that if you hit a cone it is typically a 2-second penalty. I also know that a missed gate is DNF. Are there many gates typically? Are gates marked by one cone like a ski slalom course, or by multiple cones in a group?