Notices
NA Builds Specifically for naturally aspirated builds & projects with Cams, Pistons Rods, Heads, Valves, etc

How much hp can the stock rods take?

Old 08-29-2014, 12:54 PM
M-train

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default How much hp can the stock rods take?

I'm pulling the engine on my car, and I was looking around at various upgrades like forged pistons, rods, etc.

I found some pictures of the stock rods [of course I should be able to see them in person as soon as I get the engine out], and from what I can see they look pretty stout.

I've been building Ford engines for over 30 years now, and just got rid of a 65 Mustang fastback with a 351w stroker that used the stock 351w cast iron rods.

The engine dyno'd 570fwhp with those stock bolts, and I beat the Hell out of that engine, never had a problem. I've also built many stock rod 302/5.0l engines with well over 300fwhp, and never had a problem revving to 6500rpms even with the stock 5/16 bolts [of course I changed the bolts to ARP, but they were still the same "small" 5/16's.].

So with all of the parts for the 3.5l engine being a bit higher vs the domestic parts I was wondering at around what point the stock rods give up. ..................thanks.
Old 08-29-2014, 01:21 PM
tommy smith

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default if it's a DE

Originally Posted by M-train
I'm pulling the engine on my car, and I was looking around at various upgrades like forged pistons, rods, etc.

I found some pictures of the stock rods [of course I should be able to see them in person as soon as I get the engine out], and from what I can see they look pretty stout.

I've been building Ford engines for over 30 years now, and just got rid of a 65 Mustang fastback with a 351w stroker that used the stock 351w cast iron rods.