Notices
VQ35HR Mods and Support related to the 2007/08 High Revving VQ

VQ38DE for beginners?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2017, 03:27 PM
m460mb383

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default VQ38DE for beginners?

Hey guys. I'm going to try to ask this question as simply as possible and hope for the best results.

First of all, I'm a general mechanic and fabricator, but as far as my knowledge base, i've always been a chevy guy. Small block, big block, LS1 and so on. If someone tells me what vehicle they got their "LS1" out of, i'll know immediately if it was an LM4, LM9, LQ4 LQ9 LS1 early gen, later model, LS2 LS3 LS4 LS6 7 9 blah blah blah, and can tell you almost exactly what is in it, what to change out or swap between them to make power, blah blah etc....

When it comes to NISSAN?............ not a clue.

So here's the deal. Over the next year, I'm about to start on a project, which, for simplicity sake, i wont get into. But I've been researching engines for a while now trying to figure out what i want to use for said project. I need a V6, front wheel drive manual transmission donor car. Basically, the entire front clip is coming out and going "in the trunk" of another car (once i decide what i want).

On the way home today, i was behind a run of the mill car when i noticed an enticing badge... Nissan Altima 3.5 V6............ huh.....

So that got me to thinking, "I wonder if they sell Hot rodded Cam shafts, stroker cranks, valves, upgraded heads, intakes and all of that for the engine it has in it...

I got home and wiki'd the car. 270hp.. not bad to start with! Comes with manual transmission as an option! sold

Then i realized, these engines come in :

ALL of these cars, including the Z in some form or fashion, therefore, SURE they make all the hot rod / soup up stuff for them.

so. to my question.