What RPM do you set your upshift indicator? - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > General > 2003-2009 Nissan 350Z
Reload this Page >

What RPM do you set your upshift indicator?

Notices
2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

What RPM do you set your upshift indicator?

Old 06-05-2014, 08:26 PM
  #1  
shade725
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
shade725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: new york
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default What RPM do you set your upshift indicator?

Hey guys.

Silly question, but I was wondering what tmp do you set your upshift indicator?
I know that the default is at 7500 rpm, and I believe at one point I read that setting it at different RPMs could change the onboard computer and how it runs... Is this true? If so, how does the different RPMs change things.

I have a 07 Base coupe and wanted to know if this changed from the different years or trims? Or is it purely a cosmetic indicator with that cute little blinking red light. I usually just go by feel with the manual usually shifting around 3000 RPM normally and around 4500 RPM to hear the sweetspot with the intake, but the setting is usually 7500 RPM

Thanks Again
-Dave
shade725 is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 10:58 PM
  #2  
blue350zed
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greenwell Springs, Weeziana
Posts: 1,314
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Default

It in no way affects the performance of your car. It's only an indicator that can't even be seen if your running up to redline anyway and focusing on the street like you should be.
blue350zed is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 06:08 AM
  #3  
samsniss350z
Registered User
 
samsniss350z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: planet earth
Posts: 1,490
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Totally with blue350zed, adjusting the rpm's at which the light comes on has no effect at all on the performance of the car. I don't see the point of it anyway, its too bloody small and if you're driving in bright sunshine you can't even see it. For it to be of any use it needs to be a lot bigger, brighter and in your line of sight.
samsniss350z is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 06:59 AM
  #4  
Jah70
Registered User
 
Jah70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 2,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Purely for cosmetic purposes and doesn't affect performance.
Jah70 is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 11:57 AM
  #5  
radiocrash
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
radiocrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 500
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

no change. mine was set at like 4.5 when i bought my z...i changed it to 7.5 and forgot the feature existed.
radiocrash is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 01:22 PM
  #6  
G35HR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you are one with your car, you can hear when to shift.
G35HR is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 02:37 PM
  #7  
Jah70
Registered User
 
Jah70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 2,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by G35HR View Post
If you are one with your car, you can hear when to shift.
Preach brother!!!
Jah70 is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 03:36 PM
  #8  
Stock2Autocrozz
Registered User
iTrader: (6)
 
Stock2Autocrozz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,543
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Set mine at 4700 as a just in case bc its nice for when youre on the track, otherwise just drive the car normally LOL youre on a city rd and should act accordingly
Stock2Autocrozz is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 04:27 PM
  #9  
Jah70
Registered User
 
Jah70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Greenwich, Connecticut
Posts: 2,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Stock2Autocrozz View Post
Set mine at 4700 as a just in case bc its nice for when youre on the track, otherwise just drive the car normally LOL youre on a city rd and should act accordingly
You set it at 4700 because that's the peak torque? I honestly don't notice much when I shift at the peak torque or shift in higher rpms performance wise. The only thing I noticed is my intake would start making a lot of noise between 3000-4800 and then it gets quieter after. It would sound like it was almost supercharged and it got even louder after I installed the plenum spacer and the exhaust would make a slight pop sound when I let off the throttle at a high rpm like I had test pipes or something.
Jah70 is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 06:36 PM
  #10  
thekinn
Registered User
iTrader: (18)
 
thekinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,040
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Maybe this thread will help you -

https://my350z.com/forum/2003-2009-n...ht-set-at.html
thekinn is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 11:02 AM
  #11  
yonkanif06
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
yonkanif06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by G35HR View Post
If you are one with your car, you can hear when to shift.
Very true that's why I set mine to the highest setting so I won't have to see it...that light is just annoying imo.
yonkanif06 is offline  
Old 06-07-2014, 06:38 PM
  #12  
chitownpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 211
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

400 RPM under redline so I have a little time to react. I don't use it often but once in a while it reminds me I'm getting up in revs. I don't drive my 350 too often so it helps on occasion. Wish all my stick shift cars had this.
chitownpete is offline  
Old 06-08-2014, 06:10 AM
  #13  
92K1500
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
92K1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 1,458
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by radiocrash View Post
no change. mine was set at like 4.5 when i bought my z...i changed it to 7.5 and forgot the feature existed.

I'm the same way.

I have it a few hundred over rev limiter so it starts to blink like 200rpm before it rev limits. I never really push it that far so I never see it.
92K1500 is offline  
Old 06-08-2014, 08:00 AM
  #14  
terrasmak
Super Moderator
MY350Z.COM
iTrader: (8)
 
terrasmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sin City
Posts: 25,328
Thanked 1,048 Times in 768 Posts
Default

My limiter is set at 7k so I set the light at 6600
terrasmak is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
hajwoj
Autocross/Road
27
11-01-2015 06:25 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: What RPM do you set your upshift indicator?


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: