Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Custom sub enclosure

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 07:52 PM
pigpimpc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Custom sub enclosure

I am a novice fabricator so I need some input is apreciated.

Here is the plan:

1. Mount Sub under rear strut brace. Forward firing. This is the easy part.

2. Seal off the area from rear strut brace to trunk. Harder part is here.

a. Do not hinder line of sight out of the hatch.
b. This seal can only mount on the rear strut or on the hatch itself. Probably going with mounting on the hatch itself.

I have already made styrofoam to get a general idea of the space to seal off. I will most probably lay 1 layer of fiberglass and then use clay to mold the nooks and crannies.
Old 04-30-2012, 07:53 PM
pigpimpc

So ultimately I will probably use foam or rubber gasket in between the panel (which is not yet, but will be mounted to the hatch) and the strut bar . This is pretty much only about 7 inches in width at the widest part. And I will use fiber glass so it will be lightweight.

Note in the first picture that some of the pieces are only for construction support. So in the second picture a fiberglass panel will be in the place of the styrofoam. I just need work on the molding and then also the mounting to the hatch of the fiberglass panel.

So I will pretty much conserve most of my trunk space but the box will have lots of airspace. Yes its not airtight, and there are multiple design flaws, but I'm hoping that the seal panel will be sufficient for "decent" bass.

If any of you expert builders want to jump on this within the next couple of days and take the idea help yourself I just ask for you to send me a prototype of the seal panel with gaskets hehe lol.
Attached Thumbnails Custom sub enclosure-z-box-001.jpg   Custom sub enclosure-z-box-002.jpg  

Last edited by pigpimpc; 04-30-2012 at 08:14 PM.
Old 04-30-2012, 07:53 PM
pigpimpc

saving for pics