MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion (https://my350z.com/forum/)
-   Audio & Video (https://my350z.com/forum/audio-and-video-52/)
-   -   Anyone have a CarPlay headunit yet? (https://my350z.com/forum/audio-and-video/606800-anyone-have-a-carplay-headunit-yet.html)

dcains 09-24-2015 09:55 PM

Anyone have a CarPlay headunit yet?

Just wondering if anyone has had firsthand experience with one of the several CarPlay headunits on the market now. I've got a Kenwood DDX-470, but am thinking about an upgrade to the Alpine iLX-700.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_500ILX0...&awmt=p&awnw=g

There are also 2 Kenwood CarPlay units, and while I've been very happy with the 2 Kenwoods I've had in the past, these have a lot of extra features I don't want/need, and I prefer the simplicity of the Alpine.

Tochigi_236 09-25-2015 02:18 AM

I've been considering this purchase for almost three months now, the only thread I could find on here was this one from last month: https://my350z.com/forum/audio-and-v...7-carplay.html

I've also looked at the Kenwood and Pioneer CarPlay systems, however, I'm more inclined to go with the Alpine since it is a dedicated unit for my iPhone, and the simplicity of it. It essentially mirrors the layout on my phone. The rest of my system is Alpine, so that's another plus. haha

dcains 09-25-2015 08:04 AM

Thanks, I missed that thread. Some negative reviews on Crutchfield, but as on Amazon, there are clearly a lot of idiots writing them.

Cux350z 09-25-2015 08:14 AM

i have it in my pioneer but Im on android so not sure if I am getting full use. Theres applink,carplay ect but you have to find apps that support it. Names have changed a few times and its really a pain.

I just do bluetooth, pandora and use built in GPS. Thats all i really need.

Tochigi_236 09-25-2015 11:38 AM

Originally Posted by dcains (Post 10656952)