Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Reload this Page >

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide

Old 11-14-2007, 11:47 AM
  #101  
codek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 337
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

very nice tutorial
codek is offline  
Old 11-21-2007, 07:32 AM
  #102  
driftk1d
Registered User
iTrader: (14)
 
driftk1d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,876
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

pics?
driftk1d is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 11:18 PM
  #103  
ZettoSan
Registered User
 
ZettoSan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rome
Posts: 28
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by driftk1d
pics?
All pics needed are on Page 4 (long path with switches etc.) and Page 5 (short path) of this thread.

I have made this mod this week and everything worked 100% (thanks everyone).

I have chosen the "short path" so (after following all the necessary pointed out steps to remove and disassemble the HU ** thanks liljerk **) here is what i did:

- first i took care of braking with a cutter the 3 "PCB traces" (L-CH + R-CH + A-GND) -- see below pic ** thanks SimonD **

Name:  Bose4.jpg
Views: 848
Size:  14.9 KB

** MAKE SURE TO CHECK WITH A TESTER THAT YOU WERE SUCCESSFULL IN BRAKING THEM BEFORE REASSEMBLING **

- then I just soldered the stereo lead to the 3 soldering spots -- see below pic ** thanks SimonD **

Name:  Bose5.jpg
Views: 878
Size:  20.2 KB

- finally to fool the HU and making it thing there is a tape inserted i simply removed the spring and lever as suggested by tricked04 (see below pic i made that shows how they look like when removed).



2 additional hints:

- before soldering make sure to "pass" the stereo lead thru the back hole of the bottom perforated shield that you removed in order to access the tape unit.

- when plugging-back the HU for the first time after doing the mod the TAPE will start making incredible noises (it seems like it's trying to eat a tape which is just not there...). Don't worry it's normal !! You'll be OK...

Thanks a million to everyone for this mod. It's extra cool!!

Last edited by ZettoSan; 12-01-2007 at 11:21 PM.
ZettoSan is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:46 AM
  #104  
guigui79
Registered User
 
guigui79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: france
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bleunetizen
I did this mod to get the sounds from my car pc.

It is all good but I have to hear the cassette motor ticking all the times, maybe I should've disconnected the power to the motor as well..
It works in disconnected the power to the motor ?
Because it makes a noise, even with modification with interupteur ...
guigui79 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 11:59 PM
  #105  
bleunetizen
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nz
Posts: 333
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

havent tried it yet.. im too lazy :P
bleunetizen is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 02:15 PM
  #106  
shermdog36
Registered User
 
shermdog36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

when i try that it gives me a tape err anybody seen that?
shermdog36 is offline  
Old 02-03-2008, 03:54 PM
  #107  
OneRedNSX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by shermdog36
when i try that it gives me a tape err anybody seen that?
I've seen that before... dunno why though
OneRedNSX is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 05:54 PM
  #108  
FlashZ
Registered User
 
FlashZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Looking for help wiring Ipod Aux in for 2005 Touring Mod w Bose Cassette and 6 CD

This threat looks useful for what I'm looking to do. However the pictures are missing from the link. Also, has any one done a mod like this on a 2005 system with the Bose Built in 6CD changer and cassette? Like the original writer I have no need for the casset player.
FlashZ is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 02:29 PM
  #109  
SimonD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by FlashZ
This threat looks useful for what I'm looking to do. However the pictures are missing from the link. Also, has any one done a mod like this on a 2005 system with the Bose Built in 6CD changer and cassette? Like the original writer I have no need for the casset player.
Sorry mate but the pictures are there in my post (https://my350z.com/forum/showpost.ph...1&postcount=98), the reason I put the post there was because the original pics were missing.
SimonD is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 05:25 PM
  #110  
kroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wallingford CT
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tape Err?

I am having a hard time getting this to work. I had it working with case off the head unit, but when I put it back together I keep getting "tape err".

I have taken it apart and put it back together a bunch of times... sometimes I can get it to work while apart, but I haven't had it working while together yet.

Does anyone have any idea what causes this and how to fix it?

I did the "remove the spring and arm" mod so there is no tape in there.
kroe is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 09:09 PM
  #111  
bleunetizen
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nz
Posts: 333
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

press the tape eject button without turning the car on, wait a few seconds then turn the car on.

thats how i get around the tape error issue
bleunetizen is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 04:28 AM
  #112  
kroe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Wallingford CT
Posts: 49
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

thanks! that worked. I have no idea why pushing the tape eject button with the car off does anything (the tape deck doesn't make any noise when I do so), but I'll take it . Does this tape err problem come back periodically?
kroe is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 07:35 AM
  #113  
drinkingmymilk
Registered User
 
drinkingmymilk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Middletown, Ct.
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

This is an awesome write up, I did this last night to wire in my sirius and it worked great, Thanks a bunch, I can't believe you guys figured this out. I am coming from a Jeep and on the Jeep board homebrew mods are normally stupid **** like wood doors, haha.
drinkingmymilk is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 06:30 AM
  #114  
350z-Helsinki
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
350z-Helsinki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 187
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Thanks alot for the tutorial! I did this a couple of days ago and it works just like I hoped. Not as difficult to install as i thought. It took about an hour to of my time. (I had taken the center console apart once before. My Z is the 04 European version.)
350z-Helsinki is offline  
Old 07-17-2008, 03:46 PM
  #115  
pmag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East TN
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I had this working perfect. I had removed the spring from the tape slot. But the other day I hit the tape eject but for tape and the unit no longer thinks it has a tape in it. Any Idea on how to go the tape unit tran to go back down and think it has a tape?
pmag is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 09:10 AM
  #116  
pmag
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: East TN
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Anybody?? please help
pmag is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 05:05 PM
  #117  
26th letter
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
26th letter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 18
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just did this today and was definitely worried i would screw it up but it turned out great. Props to the creative genius who figured this out. definitely a worthwhile quick ipod hookup for little money
26th letter is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 05:35 AM
  #118  
Ouch!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great tutorial, I've just completed this on my 03 Jap import and it works perfectly.
Ouch! is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:56 AM
  #119  
SteveZ
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
SteveZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 990
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Given the BOSE unit has a dealer replacement cost of $2400 USD, in my '04 and a refurbished unit is about $650 USD, I'd just pull the unit before I did this mod, and sell it. It lacks adjustment in output, it just doens't sound that great.

Buy the replacement double-din center console, drop in Infinity Kappa speakers, or get the adapter for 2 ohm OEM speakers, put in a nice HU.

For people out of warranty I would not be surprised if you could sell the existing unit for almost $500 USD, buy the $200 center double DIN which is very well done, includes A/C controls for either '03-'04 or the updated '05 forward style. Apply the rest toward a kickass HU pre-wired for iPod, SAT, and/or for those w/o NAV, drop in a double DIN unit with NAV.

After you've done this "mod" (hack) the BOSE unit has zero resale value, and when it dies (a frequent problem now after 4-5 years nothing to do with this mod), then you have to either suck up the price of new unit, or go the replacement console route as suggested above.

Just pointing out "con" side of the pros/cons of wiring up an AUX input in this manner.
SteveZ is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 08:31 AM
  #120  
Ouch!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SteveZ View Post
Given the BOSE unit has a dealer replacement cost of $2400 USD, in my '04 and a refurbished unit is about $650 USD, I'd just pull the unit before I did this mod, and sell it. It lacks adjustment in output, it just doens't sound that great.

Buy the replacement double-din center console, drop in Infinity Kappa speakers, or get the adapter for 2 ohm OEM speakers, put in a nice HU.

For people out of warranty I would not be surprised if you could sell the existing unit for almost $500 USD, buy the $200 center double DIN which is very well done, includes A/C controls for either '03-'04 or the updated '05 forward style. Apply the rest toward a kickass HU pre-wired for iPod, SAT, and/or for those w/o NAV, drop in a double DIN unit with NAV.

After you've done this "mod" (hack) the BOSE unit has zero resale value, and when it dies (a frequent problem now after 4-5 years nothing to do with this mod), then you have to either suck up the price of new unit, or go the replacement console route as suggested above.

Just pointing out "con" side of the pros/cons of wiring up an AUX input in this manner.
Some interesting points there Steve. But for me this mod makes becuase it costs nothing and is completely reversible.

The Bose HU by default does not sound great but the graphic equalizer on my MP3 player improves it no end.
Ouch! is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: