Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit Ė step by step guide - Page 8 - MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Reload this Page >

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit Ė step by step guide

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit Ė step by step guide

Old 06-02-2010, 08:13 PM
  #141  
myk02k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum. I just wanted to congratulate you all on providing a great amount of info on this DIY.

I did the install on the larger solder points, as indicated above me. I also was able to do the spring & latch removal so that no dummy cassette is needed. The sound quality is absolutely perfect!

Thanks again!

Last edited by myk02k; 06-03-2010 at 07:09 AM.
myk02k is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 08:14 PM
  #142  
myk02k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And for those of you with the non-Bose headunit, I stumbled upon this.

http://porkrind.org/gallery/v/david/...er/radio-hack/

I don't particularly recommend attempting what this guy did...seems like you'd need a hell of a lot of spare time.

Last edited by myk02k; 06-02-2010 at 08:16 PM.
myk02k is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 12:31 PM
  #143  
STL 350Z
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
STL 350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Galactica BS-75
Posts: 1,818
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by myk02k View Post
And for those of you with the non-Bose headunit, I stumbled upon this.

http://porkrind.org/gallery/v/david/...er/radio-hack/

I don't particularly recommend attempting what this guy did...seems like you'd need a hell of a lot of spare time.
F that... I will just buy a new radio with a aux in.
STL 350Z is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 04:09 PM
  #144  
SteveZ
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
SteveZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 990
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stl wrx View Post
F that... I will just buy a new radio with a aux in.
The reason people even bother with this is the BOSE unit has speakers with impedance difference that require some additional work to use with AM receivers (IIRC half the ohms or something like that). IDK about the non-BOSE units. Just factor in new speakers to that new "radio" if you plan to yank the BOSE unit out.
SteveZ is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 08:08 AM
  #145  
STL 350Z
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
STL 350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Galactica BS-75
Posts: 1,818
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by SteveZ View Post
The reason people even bother with this is the BOSE unit has speakers with impedance difference that require some additional work to use with AM receivers (IIRC half the ohms or something like that). IDK about the non-BOSE units. Just factor in new speakers to that new "radio" if you plan to yank the BOSE unit out.
I have a base model Z without the Blose radio. I plan on replacing the deck with one that has USB and Aux because FM modulator is getting old. A good friend gave me a 2 channel amp he knows I can repair (loose RCA input), so that is motivating me to get started soon.
STL 350Z is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 01:18 PM
  #146  
SteveZ
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
SteveZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 990
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stl wrx View Post
I have a base model Z without the Blose radio. I plan on replacing the deck with one that has USB and Aux because FM modulator is getting old. A good friend gave me a 2 channel amp he knows I can repair (loose RCA input), so that is motivating me to get started soon.
I hear you there, my '03 was also a base model, the stereo was truly unspectacular and after less than a year at least one side had cut out, replaced under warranty...then the speakers started sounding like crap on one side again, I would have definitely replaced it by now.

The BOSE system is definitely a curse esp in the '03-'04 G, with six speakers (6x9's) and 2 high frequency door mounts, and double DIN form factor, XM tuner, replacing the entire system with something else is not inexpensive or easy. But it pretty much came in any car with the premium package, and the premium package pretty much came in every 6MT Sport, and so on...no really avoiding it. At least in the G is is one of the better sounding BOSE units I've had in other cars. Good enough I still have it, cassette player and all, LOL!

Good luck with your system, I remember mine in the Z was pretty toast after ~14 months, I rarely turned it on, def would have replaced it soon.
SteveZ is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 02:25 PM
  #147  
myk02k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Does this method ONLY work for a 2003 350z BOSE h-u or can you apply the exact same methods on a 2004+ BOSE/non-BOSE h-u?
myk02k is offline  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:00 AM
  #148  
lhassall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by myk02k View Post
Does this method ONLY work for a 2003 350z BOSE h-u or can you apply the exact same methods on a 2004+ BOSE/non-BOSE h-u?
Any head unit with a tape deck will work. It's a generic part shared by the BOSE and non-BOSE versions (both are made by Clarion!).
lhassall is offline  
Old 07-11-2011, 06:27 PM
  #149  
ibadat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can anyone please repost the image for Step 5?
ibadat is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:52 PM
  #150  
nohassle5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Fantastic Thread. Works like a champ.
nohassle5 is offline  
Old 11-23-2011, 07:40 PM
  #151  
rob88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: adelaide
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Not Working

Hi Guys,

Great forum here and great mod thanks very much to all that have contributed. I have done everything as per the instructions but I have a problem. I cannot use anything else like CD or radio and I cant adjust the volume or turn on/off. The only thing I did different was I wired in a 3.5mm headphone cable directly rather than an AUX cable. Could this make a difference? My headphone in works perfectly.
Cheers
rob88 is offline  
Old 11-06-2012, 06:59 AM
  #152  
photo-p
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: adelanto
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anybody have pictures I just purchased my Z and I want to do this mod I just need some pic or detailed info thanks.
photo-p is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:27 AM
  #153  
Ka$h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by lhassall View Post
Any head unit with a tape deck will work. It's a generic part shared by the BOSE and non-BOSE versions (both are made by Clarion!).
Great thread guys. I have an 04 G35 Coupe with Bose and Nav. Will this work with my cassette player as well?

I don't want to waste a whole day disassembling my dash/deck to find out it doesn't work on the G.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Ka$h; 03-20-2013 at 07:31 AM.
Ka$h is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 02:05 PM
  #154  
Ka$h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

bump.. anyone??
Ka$h is offline  
Old 03-26-2013, 12:35 PM
  #155  
loquitoy2k
Registered User
 
loquitoy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm going to try this on my Murano =) Subscribing.
loquitoy2k is offline  
Old 04-01-2013, 06:45 AM
  #156  
Ka$h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks loquitoy2k. Please let me know how it goes and I'll try it on my G35.
Ka$h is offline  
Old 04-27-2013, 12:42 PM
  #157  
loquitoy2k
Registered User
 
loquitoy2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ka$h View Post
Thanks loquitoy2k. Please let me know how it goes and I'll try it on my G35.
I did it man.... Took me about 2 hours and it works great. The Murano's radio is similar to the pictures posted here. If you are considering doing it don't wait ... So worth it :-)
loquitoy2k is offline  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:58 AM
  #158  
Ka$h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot man!
Ka$h is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 05:59 PM
  #159  
knillsoccer13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: indiana
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is there any good way of doing something like this on a non-bose system? anything 3.5mm or ipod accessible

Originally Posted by something fishy View Post
10. Caveats/warnings

This seems to work for me; I donít use cassette at all so sacrificing it was an easy choice to make. It is pretty easy process (actually getting the dash off was harder) but breaking the PCB traces probably isnít easily reversible, so be careful. I donít know what will happen if you cut any of the other traces.

This was done on a 2003 350Z in Singapore Ė if your Bose headunit is substantially different from the pictures or doesnít have the helpful labels on each trace or you donít feel comfortable taking it apart you might want to think about some other route.

Hope that this helps some people.

Regards

Eric
knillsoccer13 is offline  
Old 06-17-2013, 09:57 PM
  #160  
quanttrom
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The BOSE and the non-BOSE systems are very similar. Both should be easy to mod.

I am currently in the process of doing the mod myself.

Please cut your traces... Only Left and Right is sufficient. You can leave GND alone. I am looking at the schematic of the Clarion PN-2545E ( from a '03 G35 Bose w/ Navigation) but I assume the other variants should be VERY similar.. the PN-2545E is very very heavily based on the PN-2459EA. The PN2458Ex is also very very similar.

The AC coupling capacitor on the tape audio signal is placed after the point where you splice in your audio signal. You shouldn't only worry about the noise but also the fact that your device will also be driven by the audio signal processor in the car deck (this guy http://www.datasheetdir.com/HA12216F+Audio-Processor )
Essentially based on how your iPod or iPhone or w/e is designed it can be an issue or just add noise.

I guess an easier way to explain it is: You don't want the tape deck AND your iPod both trying to drive the speakers. They end up "fighting" kind of..
quanttrom is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit Ė step by step guide


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: