Go Back  MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion > 350Z Tech Area > Audio & Video
Reload this Page >

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide

Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide

Old 06-18-2013, 02:52 AM
  #161  
bleunetizen
Registered User
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nz
Posts: 333
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I receive this email notification every so often when new people post comment on this post because of the post I made long time ago, recently I replace my stock head unit and wanted to comment in this topic

I did this mod many years ago, probably like 6 or 7 years ago. Recently I replaced the stock headunit because I wanted bluetooth streaming and phone calls and man what a difference in sound it makes. In the past I saw many people commenting bad things about stock headunit and how horrible they sound and etc, and I can honestly confirm that they were speaking the truth. I did not change the stock headunit because I did not want to make the stock steering wheel button etc non functional and have somewhat unmatching look in the dash, while I could still get reasonable sound from it by doing the mod, but if I knew it was this kind of difference in sound, I would've done it from day one.

Honest, I would recommend anyone whos thinking of doing this mod to just get a proper aftermarket headunit which has more features and etc.

I bought this Sony headunit which is nothing overly impressive, but it does bluetooth streaming, bluetooth phone calls, comes with its own microphone to catch voice and they work really well, and display colour can be adjusted to perfectly match the Z's dash lights (yellowish orange).
bleunetizen is offline  
Old 08-14-2013, 03:45 AM
  #162  
_Shorty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Well, I just bought a 2003 350z Performance model (only 36,000 km / 22,000 miles!!) over the past weekend, and found this thread quite helpful. It'll tide me over until I decide on what kind of equipment to buy.

On a related note, the cassette adapter I bought kept triggering the auto-reverse function every time I hit a bump for some reason. This adapter had a head in it that would feed both directions of the head in the deck, but it gapped out for a second or so when it switched. Pretty annoying. Anyway, I took all the gears out of the cassette adapter and the deck didn't complain about it. So it isn't expecting both reels to be moving, or at least mine didn't care at all.

Day off tomorrow. Where's my soldering iron?
_Shorty is offline  
Old 09-14-2013, 11:53 PM
  #163  
skewz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by something fishy View Post
5. Find the correct PCB traces and break them.

If you cassette unit looks like mine the back will look like this. The part sticking up (with 97-794-Y00 written on it) is the connector that plugs into the main PCB.



This picture shows how helpfully the PCB identifies what trace carries what signal. We need to break the traces for the Left (L-CH) and Right Channels (R-CH) plus the Audio ground (A-GND) upstream of the solder blobs (we will use those blobs to attach a cable to). You can break the traces by just scraping through them with the tip of a knife or some other sharp object (a jewellers screwdriver is ideal). You can see where Ive done this in this closeup (note that I was a bit careless and let the knife slip a little).

Hey Bro,
Im in the process of doing this mod. I have an 08 model, and im from Australia.

All the images in this thread are coming up as broken, so i dont have much to go off.

Are you able to possibly email me some images of the PCB?
skewz is offline  
Old 09-15-2013, 05:37 PM
  #164  
jdjesse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Camdenton, Missouri, US
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

broken images??
jdjesse is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 12:00 AM
  #165  
skewz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdjesse View Post
broken images??
As in wont load in the thread or when I click on them. Its as if they have been removed or I do not have access.
skewz is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 01:37 AM
  #166  
_Shorty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Here's some I took when I did mine a few weeks ago on the 2003 I just got recently.

Here you can see where I cut the traces, just below the black 2 printed in that rectangle. (Click for hi-res version.)



And these are the two parts I removed in order to trick the deck into thinking there is always a tape inserted.



And finally, where I soldered my wires to the board. edit: By the way, the reason I have the left/right wires reversed, for you eagle-eyed people who saw this, is because I just used an old cable I had lying around that came from the manufacturer with the left/right wires hooked up backwards in the jack. Red is normally the right channel, and white is normally the left channel, and that's the only reason I have them soldered "incorrectly."


Last edited by _Shorty; 05-14-2014 at 07:26 PM.
_Shorty is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 09:37 PM
  #167  
jdjesse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Camdenton, Missouri, US
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by skewz View Post
As in wont load in the thread or when I click on them. Its as if they have been removed or I do not have access.
Won't load, as in been removed
jdjesse is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 05:21 AM
  #168  
Doodles
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 39
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Can you please reload all of the images? I've got 2008 with bose and tape inside, so i think it would work.
And tell me please, on the picture on the previost post is that aux cable connected?

Last edited by Doodles; 04-05-2014 at 05:22 AM.
Doodles is offline  
Old 04-06-2014, 02:04 PM
  #169  
_Shorty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes. Just take it apart. Things are clearly labeled on the circuit board.

R-CH = Right Channel
L-CH = Left Channel
A-GND = Ground (I imagine 'audio ground'.)
Originally Posted by Doodles View Post
And tell me please, on the picture on the previost post is that aux cable connected?

Last edited by _Shorty; 04-06-2014 at 02:05 PM.
_Shorty is offline  
Old 05-14-2014, 06:36 PM
  #170  
jdjesse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Camdenton, Missouri, US
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Will this work on my G35 as well?
jdjesse is offline  
Old 05-17-2014, 04:25 AM
  #171  
jdjesse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Camdenton, Missouri, US
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

bump
jdjesse is offline  
Old 05-17-2014, 07:33 AM
  #172  
_Shorty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada
Posts: 11
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Instead of bumping, perhaps take your stereo out and have a look at the circuit board and see if it is the same or not. If it is, then you already have it out. If it's not, oh well, you got the experience of taking it out and putting it back in.
_Shorty is offline  
Old 10-04-2014, 01:38 PM
  #173  
jdjesse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Camdenton, Missouri, US
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by _Shorty View Post
Instead of bumping, perhaps take your stereo out and have a look at the circuit board and see if it is the same or not. If it is, then you already have it out. If it's not, oh well, you got the experience of taking it out and putting it back in.
will do!
jdjesse is offline  
Old 04-14-2015, 03:02 PM
  #174  
Ka$h
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

So, did it work for your G35?

Thanks

Originally Posted by jdjesse View Post
will do!
Ka$h is offline  
Old 08-15-2017, 11:31 PM
  #175  
Monty350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Success from Switzerland

Hello from Geneva and mid-2017!

This thread is still valid after almost half a century ;-)

I did this mod and I have to say that it was easy!
Sound quality is best I have heard from my Bose! Same quality as good CDs.
I really recommend it.

For info I own a 350Z 2005 pack model and I wish I had done the mod earlier.

Good luck to all!
Monty350 is offline  
Old 04-09-2018, 03:38 PM
  #176  
Rumbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the guide. A intensive google search brought me here. Incase anyone else is looking to do this on their car I have put together a video.
Rumbo is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 12:51 PM
  #177  
zakmartin
orange moodring
 
zakmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,820
Received 503 Likes on 372 Posts
Default

Watch this video on YouTube
Playback on other websites has been disabled by the video owner.

zakmartin is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:41 PM
  #178  
Rumbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yeah this site decided to embed my video instead of leaving a hyperlink. Just click through to watch it on YT.
Rumbo is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ars88
Zs & Gs For Sale
18
04-04-2016 07:52 AM
dcains
Audio & Video
12
11-11-2015 11:36 PM
samansharif
Brakes & Suspension
1
09-25-2015 12:31 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Make a line/aux in for your 2003 Bose headunit step by step guide


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: