Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

HANS for DE?

Old 08-10-2017, 02:23 PM
N80

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default HANS for DE?

I know the answer to this question so maybe I'm just looking for validation. I'm a track day instructor. I run HPDE 4 for fun (open passing). I may do TT at some point but I will probably never race WTW.

I do this 4-5 times a year and run at tracks like VIR where I'm hitting 140+ in a stock 07 Z and last time I was there was running with Ferrari Challenge cars and Porsche GT3 Cup cars all the way down to DD Miatas. So speed and speed differential are there.

With the DE2 driver getting killed last year at Road Atlanta I've started being more concerned about safety.

I've got a race seat. Getting a custom roll bar next month. Ordering a 6 point harness tonight and I'm running out of money.

Was talking to a friend about this who said he would not wear a race harness without a HANS. That may just be his preference but I can see his point. In a race seat with harnesses your body is going to be held in place and the airbag is not going to be a factor which means your head is the only thing unrestrained.

So, HANS for DE? Overkill? I know when it comes to safety more is always better but wonder if this is important or if I will look and feel silly wearing a HANS in DE4.

Then, if I do go for a device, any opinions about NecksGen vs HANS?

Of course the elephant in the room is what about when I'm in the care with a student? Some of my students have been as fast as I am and some of them have faster cars. I know they make hybrid devices but they look really uncomfortable.
Old 08-10-2017, 02:32 PM
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 3,253 Likes on 2,314 Posts

Originally Posted by N80