MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion (https://my350z.com/forum/)
-   Body, Interior, Exterior & Lighting (DIY) (https://my350z.com/forum/body-interior-exterior-and-lighting-diy-460/)
-   -   Step-by-step instructions for outside door handle replacement (https://my350z.com/forum/body-interior-exterior-and-lighting-diy/542067-step-by-step-instructions-for-outside-door-handle-replacement.html)

tighefighter 11-26-2011 09:05 AM

Step-by-step instructions for outside door handle replacement

Dear Readers,

I am a newbie to this forum, but have found some important information.
My outside door handle broke and I became tired of using my key fob to roll down my windows to open the door from the inside. Although the part (new door handle) was not that expensive, I knew the labor would be.

First of all, don't fret, You don't need to take off the inside door panel!!!

The tools you will need include:
1. 11mm socket (long socket or smaller socket w/ extension)
2. Philips screwdriver
3. Flat head screwdriver

1. To get started, first remove the rubber grommets, there are two of them on the inside of the door

2.IMPORTANT---(sorry about the Capital letters, not yelling, just trying to have your attention)- Find two pieces of cardboard (not box cardboard, but not construction paper either--Something in between will work well). Tear about a 1 inch strip and insert it into the holes of where you took out the grommets. What you are trying to accomplish is forming a catch, when your remove the bolts, You do not want these bolts to fall to the bottom of your door! These half circle pieces of cardboard will catch the removed bolt.

3. Carefully remove the upper and lower bolt and set aside

4. You can now remove the handle, but you cannot remove it all the way because it is still attached to the lock assembly.