Notices
Buying/Leasing 350Z/370Z Purchasing Info

20 Year Old - New & Potential Owner!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2015, 02:29 PM
Punk Guitarist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 20 Year Old - New & Potential Owner!

Hi everyone!

Glad I could finally join the community - just got back from a holiday.

I find myself in a fortunate position; I am 20 years old and I have been in full time employment in the IT sector for one year. My parents bought me my first car which I have been driving for 3 years. I've always wanted a 350z, since it's launch in 2003. Now, I feel like owning one, particularly an 09 convertible GT, is a genuine possibility.

Now if I'm honest, I am on a starting salary. The acquisition of a car like this would cost the best part of a year's wage, so naturally, there are a number of questions bouncing round my head...

Firstly, let me give some figures:

- Insurance will cost me about £1000 for the first year.
- UK road tax will be £500.
- Fuel isn't really an issue because I have a very short commute.

Now the questions I have:

- Am I insane in thinking this is a possibility?
- Am I being financially optimistic?! Does anyone know roughly what the running costs of this car are?
- Will this car serve well as my only car?
- The cars I'm looking at have about 20-30,000 miles on the clock. Am I going to need to spend money replacing/fixing anything?

While I can afford this car (with finance - which I can secure), I'm just kinda concerned. I don't really know what I'm worried about, it just seems very unusual for someone my age to be cruising round in a 300hp sports car.

Thanks for reading and for any help. I look forward to being an active member of the forum!
Old 04-20-2015, 03:19 PM
blue06z

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I bought a new 350Z at the age of 21 as a daily driver.
Old 04-20-2015, 03:24 PM
turboed350z

Received 277 Likes on 215 Posts

I prefer a fat safty net over a sport car i dont need. But thats just me.