MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion (https://my350z.com/forum/)
-   Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction (DIY) (https://my350z.com/forum/engine-drivetrain-and-forced-induction-diy-458/)
-   -   DIY - Quaife LSD INSTALL - PICS! (https://my350z.com/forum/engine-drivetrain-and-forced-induction-diy/424948-diy-quaife-lsd-install-pics.html)

AcidJake75 03-25-2009 12:41 PM

DIY - Quaife LSD INSTALL - PICS!

21 Attachment(s)
I recently installed my LSD. A buddy of mine with a 240sx also did his at the same time.. I didnt find a DIY for QUAIFE so here it is..

Its going to be short and sweet and PLEASE DONT BE INTIMIDATED by this Project. It was quite easy and Im no mechanic, Im just good at following directions.

First thing is first - GET THE FSM (Factory Service Manual) so you will know what foot lbs of torque to use when you put everything back together. THIS IS A MUST - IF YOU DONT HAVE THE FSM - DONT START THIS PROJECT.

btw - I save 400 bucks on the install (give or take)...

First - Jack up car (in my case - cars)

Attachment 423000

Get everything ready and take pics of your very expensive purchase..Quaife on the left (I still need new bearings). Order new bearings for the Quaife and get them pressed on by a machine shop. The old bearings can be used but I suggest to get new ones. Carbonetics on the right - PLUG AND PLAY..its set to 1.5

Attachment 423001

Pic of the Quaife ready for install (w/bearings) - bearing Product SKU: 38440-Z33001 (Part #)
Attachment 423002

Get under the car and start taking stuff off - you will need a 14MM socket and 17MM... the 14mm is for the axle bolts. The 17MM is for the driveshaft bolts..

Attachment 423003

Unbolt the driveshaft and MAKE SURE you have a towel or something to lay it on cause you DONT want to mess up that bad a$$ carbon fiber..
Attachment 423004

Another pic - just for reference..
Attachment 423005