Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Power Mirror Issue, Need help reading wiring diagram

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2017, 04:23 PM
shiftdrift06

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Power Mirror Issue, Need help reading wiring diagram

Long story short, my passenger side mirror doesn't respond with the switch, up, down, left or right. Nothing.

The mirror itself, works, I took it out, hooked up 12v source, it moves.
Fuse is good, also my driver side works fine.

I even tried switching the "mirror switch" out with another one, same thing, driver side works, passenger nothing.

I am ASSUMING, I have a break in the circuit somewhere. However I am not good at reading wiring diagrams. I know there is only 3 wires that go into the mirror.
My question is how should I diagnose this? Is the mirror being powered by a single 12v source and manipulated by grounds? or? idk lol.

Old 03-23-2017, 05:25 PM
Cux350z
hatersgonnahate

Received 956 Likes on 721 Posts

ok so basic DC motor control is done by Voltage Polarity and Voltage Magnitude.
You change direction by changing the Polarity.
You change the speed by changing the Voltage magnitude. Proportional..double the voltage, double the speed (ignoring load etc, just theory)

What nissan is doing is pretty cool. They are using 3 wires to control the 4 states of the two motors. The Voltage magnitude looks constant, polarity is what is changed.

You have three wires going to the mirror. Green, Yellow and Red.
UP Yellow - Red +
DOWN Yellow + Red -
LEFT Green + Yellow -
RIGHT Green - Yellow +

The 4 states are exclusive..meaning you cannot have 2 states active at the same time (unless something is BROKEN) You can see on the switches where some of the R L U D (Right left up down) selections do not have connections to either + or -...they will be open.

I would check the 10A fuse first.
The following users liked this post:
shiftdrift06 (03-23-2017)
Old 03-23-2017, 05:57 PM
shiftdrift06