Notices
Forced Induction Turbochargers and Superchargers..Got Boost?

Pulling Heads to Install L19ís and HKS Head Gaskets

Old 07-05-2018, 07:52 AM
  #61  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Quick update, looks like my Walbro 450's on its way out. I noticed the car was cutting boost and turning up the injectors at high RPM, etc. e85tz33 gave me his spare 450, I'll be dropping it later today and make a few test hits.

The pump had about 25k miles on it, primarily on E85




Last edited by thatv35guy; 07-05-2018 at 08:01 AM.
thatv35guy is online now  
The following users liked this post:
BluestreamDE (07-05-2018)
Old 07-05-2018, 08:34 AM
  #62  
WTFMike
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scottsdale,Az
Posts: 671
Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by thatv35guy View Post
e85tz33 gave me his spare 450, I'll be dropping it later today and make a few test hits.
This e85tz33 sounds like a pretty awesome guy.
WTFMike is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 10:27 AM
  #63  
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,220
Received 287 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Yea that filter is pretty dirty. Nice of your buddy to come thru with the hookup...
BluestreamDE is offline  
Old 07-06-2018, 06:40 AM
  #64  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Yeah, WTFMike/e85tz33's pretty okay haha

We dropped in the pump yesterday, need to get out and make a few test hits tonight.

thatv35guy is online now  
Old 07-12-2018, 07:23 AM
  #65  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

My new intercooler core finally came in from Titan Motorsports, it's a 1000hp Garrett core (23.7x12x3.8). Will have some custom end tanks thrown on soon.

I was originally thinking about just purchasing a Treadstone TR1245 intercooler but after doing some research on a few forums (EvoM, Yellow Bullet, etc.) I decided that the Garrett core was worth the extra money. Especially since I plan to max out my Pure upgraded GT3582R.



thatv35guy is online now  
The following users liked this post:
BluestreamDE (07-12-2018)
Old 07-12-2018, 08:25 AM
  #66  
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,220
Received 287 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Nice Supra!
BluestreamDE is offline  
Old 08-17-2018, 10:29 AM
  #67  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

The Supra's alright, just not as fast as the VQ. :P

Picked up a few more parts for my car... I've been waiting several months for CJM's twin pumps to become available again, but looks like we're still at least two months out, so in the meantime I decided that I'm going to place a Kenne Bell Boost-a-Pump on my Walbro 450lph fuel pump. I figure that should be enough to get me car up to about 700whp.

And my driver seat has been wearing quite badly so I decided to pickup a recline-able Sparco seat.

thatv35guy is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 09:41 AM
  #68  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Latest on my car, the Kenne Bell Boost-A-Pump worked almost too well, turned the boost up to 20 psi and grenaded the transmission almost instantly, picked up a CD009 the other day to swap in. The car was on the original CD003 so I was half expecting this at some point.

thatv35guy is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 10:03 AM
  #69  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,104
Received 450 Likes on 376 Posts
Default

Nice ... it was only a matter of time!
bealljk is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:04 PM
  #70  
Conway_160
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pan Handle
Posts: 2,077
Received 148 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

Hey question for you, have you or ever heard of anyone's CD009 locking its self into a gear? I went to pass someone night before last and decided to be dcks and speed up as i went to pass them so i topped out 4th. I went to go into 5 and the shiftier wouldn't move at all. I didn't want to slam it forward just in case it was destroyed could limp it home in 4th. Once i got down to 30-40 mph it came out and went back in to gear like normal. I tried to recreate the scenario but it never acted up again.

Sorry to thread jack.
Conway_160 is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:09 PM
  #71  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Conway_160 View Post
Hey question for you, have you or ever heard of anyone's CD009 locking its self into a gear? I went to pass someone night before last and decided to be dcks and speed up as i went to pass them so i topped out 4th. I went to go into 5 and the shiftier wouldn't move at all. I didn't want to slam it forward just in case it was destroyed could limp it home in 4th. Once i got down to 30-40 mph it came out and went back in to gear like normal. I tried to recreate the scenario but it never acted up again.

Sorry to thread jack.
Never heard of that on a CD009, I'd take a peak under the shift boot though, wtfmike had issues getting into 5th gear, he thought his transmission or clutch was done for but it actually just looked like the bolts holding the shifter to the bracket had all backed out.
thatv35guy is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 03:24 PM
  #72  
Conway_160
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pan Handle
Posts: 2,077
Received 148 Likes on 128 Posts
Default

I have mine all secured, i check it reguraly
Conway_160 is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 05:55 PM
  #73  
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,220
Received 287 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Sorry to get off topic, but do you have any pics you can share how you wired up the Kenne Bell BAP to reference? Buying one tonight and I am crap with electronics and wiring. Only seeing videos with mustangs and domestics. I get the boost reference Hobbs switch but everything else I am struggling to wrap my head around.
BluestreamDE is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 06:55 PM
  #74  
WTFMike
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scottsdale,Az
Posts: 671
Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I think I remember the wiring going like this: The red wire without the fuse goes to your pump power. The other red wire with the fuse gets battery power via a relay. The black ground goes right to ground. And the BAS goes to your relay/hobbs switch. I'm pretty sure that's how we wired it. Except on his car the BAS wire went to his ProEFI.

Last edited by WTFMike; 10-11-2018 at 07:04 PM.
WTFMike is offline  
The following users liked this post:
bealljk (10-11-2018)
Old 10-11-2018, 08:01 PM
  #75  
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,220
Received 287 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by WTFMike View Post
I think I remember the wiring going like this: The red wire without the fuse goes to your pump power. The other red wire with the fuse gets battery power via a relay. The black ground goes right to ground. And the BAS goes to your relay/hobbs switch. I'm pretty sure that's how we wired it. Except on his car the BAS wire went to his ProEFI.
Just so I fully Understand, I'm gonna repeat what I think you are telling me (Sorry to thatV35guy for derailing).


Red Wire With Fuse ---> To a relay or straight to battery?
Red Wire Without Fuse ---> Goes to Fuel pump wire going to fuel pump?
Black wire w/ Ground ---> to Ground (easy enough...)
BAS Black wire ---> to Hobbs switch (which only needs this wire to function properly)

Tried to understand the chart below before asking the question, maybe I'm just over thinking it.
BluestreamDE is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 08:12 PM
  #76  
WTFMike
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scottsdale,Az
Posts: 671
Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BluestreamDE View Post
Just so I fully Understand, I'm gonna repeat what I think you are telling me (Sorry to thatV35guy for derailing).


Red Wire With Fuse ---> To a relay or straight to battery?
Red Wire Without Fuse ---> Goes to Fuel pump wire going to fuel pump?
Black wire w/ Ground ---> to Ground (easy enough...)
BAS Black wire ---> to Hobbs switch (which only needs this wire to function properly)

Tried to understand the chart below before asking the question, maybe I'm just over thinking it.
You got it right. I assume you currently have your pump hardwired to the battery with a relay, right?
The red wire with the fuse goes to the relay that is getting battery power.
WTFMike is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 08:16 PM
  #77  
BluestreamDE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,220
Received 287 Likes on 231 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by WTFMike View Post
You got it right. I assume you currently have your pump hardwired to the battery with a relay, right?
The red wire with the fuse goes to the relay that is getting battery power.
Ok, I have not done the pump hardwire yet, i think Bealljk posted how he did it on his thread. So there is more to it then.

Thanks for your help!

Edit: Starts on post #633 on his thread, bookmarking it here so i remember.

Last edited by BluestreamDE; 10-11-2018 at 08:28 PM.
BluestreamDE is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 08:31 PM
  #78  
WTFMike
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scottsdale,Az
Posts: 671
Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Yup, post #636 on his thread i posted the diagram of how to wire in the relay.
WTFMike is offline  
Old 10-11-2018, 09:19 PM
  #79  
bealljk
Registered User
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Denver
Posts: 4,104
Received 450 Likes on 376 Posts
Default

I'll post-up my schematic as well ... I am 'documenting' all my gaggles of wires and hoses in autocad for the archive and/or when I have to dig into the mess. Couldnt have done it without you guys!

Last edited by bealljk; 10-11-2018 at 09:22 PM.
bealljk is online now  
Old 05-23-2019, 12:55 PM
  #80  
thatv35guy
Registered User
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
thatv35guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 702
Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Made a bunch of updates to the car since I last posted in posted in this thread, among them a Driveshaft Shop aluminum driveshaft, Bell Raceworks differential brance, swapped out the OEM rear Brembo brakes to make way for a pair of 15" Weld RTS wheels w/555R drag radials, got my Garrett intercooler fabricated too, etc.












thatv35guy is online now  
The following users liked this post:
bealljk (05-23-2019)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Pulling Heads to Install L19ís and HKS Head Gaskets


Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: