Notices
Intake Exhaust Moving all that air in and out efficiently

Resonators Broken Baffle?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2015, 07:15 AM
Joe clan

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Resonators Broken Baffle?

I am new to the this forum but not to rebuilding and working on cars. I have recently had a sound coming from under the car. it is a higher pitch metallic sound. To me it sounds like a ball bearing or piece of metal inside the resonator bouncing around. This sound is there when cold or hot, when at idle and at down rev,
in or out of gear, clutch in or out. do not hear it when accelerating.

Car has HKS or knock of HKS cat-back system.

I jacked the car up and started the car to hear noise. Took a screw driver and put it up to ear and touched the other end to all parts under the car, to hear the noise. I found it coming from the two center sections (resonators).

Before someone post, no it is not the throw-out barring.

Has anyone had this issue and been able to fit it? Should I take it apart and shake it out to see if I can get something that might be making the noise out? Wanted to check and see if anyone had advice before I start taking **** apart. Has anyone had a baffle brake inside the resonator?

Guess the last resort would be replace them, any ideas on what type of replacement or replace with just straight pipes (delete the resonators).

Below is my other toy that I did a ground up restoration on.

Last edited by Joe clan; 11-25-2015 at 07:24 AM.
Old 11-25-2015, 07:22 AM
Joe clan

Forgot to add its a 2008 with 77K miles. I did not do the exhaust on it. It doesn't have high flow-cats on it and this is the only mod to the car.
Old 11-25-2015, 07:41 AM
MicVelo
350Z/370Z Tech Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 3,253 Likes on 2,314 Posts

Originally Posted by Joe clan