MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion

MY350Z.COM - Nissan 350Z and 370Z Forum Discussion (https://my350z.com/forum/)
-   North West (https://my350z.com/forum/north-west-28/)
-   -   Windshield Replacement - Seattle/Bellevue (https://my350z.com/forum/north-west/594231-windshield-replacement-seattle-bellevue.html)

07ZEKE 05-24-2014 09:11 AM

Windshield Replacement - Seattle/Bellevue

Does anyone know a very good place to get my windshield replaced
in the Seattle/Bellevue area ? I want OEM glass and it must be put in
by someone who knows what they are doing . The dude at Allstate
tried to push me off to Safelite and their knock off glass , that's not
going to happen....

Thanks 07ZEKE

08andawesome 05-24-2014 10:53 AM

Your going to have to go through the dealer and it's going to be expensive. Almost every glass company uses either PGW or pilkington but they will tell you all day that it's OEM. This is what I do for a living so trust me on this one

dcains 05-24-2014 12:41 PM

In the case of collision parts and insurance claims, at least here in FL, the consumer has the right to refuse non-OEM parts. I wonder if it's the same where you are. I agree that I would only want OEM glass, installed as original, and that means going to a dealer with a good shop.

KornerCarver 05-24-2014 01:17 PM

In my experience, Safelight does an excellent job replacing glass. I really doubt there is any difference between OEM glass and that used by Safelight.

pyshin 05-24-2014 01:20 PM

+1 There's nothing wrong with Safelite... Unless you literally get your insurance to pay OEM and install through a reputable dealer.

dcains 05-24-2014 01:23 PM

I disagree. I had a Safelite windshield in a 5-series BMW, and it was crap. It had an area of distortion right in my line of sight that drove me crazy. I ended up paying out of pocket to have it fixed correctly at a dealer.

pyshin 05-24-2014 01:39 PM