Notices
350Z Roadster General discussion for the 350Z Roadster

How to use TIPTRONIC

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2010, 03:54 PM
marchockey13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to use TIPTRONIC

Hey, now i know it may have already been answered, but i read everything about it and i really feel that i need more precise information... please.

So i have a 2005 nissan 350z roadster. Automatic transmission with tiptronic.

When do i upshift? When do i downshift? Do i even have to downshift? At how many RPMs do i upshift?

What else do i need to know?

Please help me, and be simple with your answers, i am 19 years old, i am a beginner, so i want to understand everything lol .
Thanks so much!
Old 06-07-2010, 04:11 PM
Edg_R

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by marchockey13
Hey, now i know it may have already been answered, but i read everything about it and i really feel that i need more precise information... please.

So i have a 2005 nissan 350z roadster. Automatic transmission with tiptronic.

When do i upshift? When do i downshift? Do i even have to downshift? At how many RPMs do i upshift?

What else do i need to know?

Please help me, and be simple with your answers, i am 19 years old, i am a beginner, so i want to understand everything lol .
Thanks so much!
I also have an auto and always drive it in semi.
As far as to when to up/downshift, it just depends on what kind of driving you're doing...
If you're simply driving down the street, I would say upshift at 3.5rpms. You don't need to downshift, but you can.
Old 06-07-2010, 04:19 PM
marchockey13

so all i gotta do is upshift everytime it reaches around 3.5 RPM???

never downshift i dont want 2 right? Well howcome that in my 350z manual that came with the car, it says to keep it at gear 5 when i am driving normally, and then it tells me to put it at 2 in a certain situation, at 3 in an other situation, etc ? Why? Do i have to follow that or do i simply just always upshift at 3.5 RPM?