Why Q35 motor starts knocking so often

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2017, 05:20 AM
brcisna

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why Q35 motor starts knocking so often

Hello All,

Newbie here
Have been looking to purchase a 350z for some time now. Just curious what peoples thoughts are in regards to what I have found when researching the Z cars for some time now.Seems SO many of these cars ends up with motor knocking issues at around 120k on the clock. I'm sure many of these cars have been revved many times beyond what they should but also have found this knocking starts out of the blue even on cars that have been babied their entire life. The Q35 motors talking.

Just curious what people thoughts are in regards to this issue.

TIA
Old 05-20-2017, 05:41 AM
dkmura
General & DIY Moderator
MY350Z.COM

Received 1,290 Likes on 894 Posts

Welcome, but you don't need to post the same question in two different forums. As to the VQ35DE/rev up/HR, your research is faulty. These high-quality engines last well beyond 120K and, depending on their maintenance and service, show no signs of detonation or knocking. Nissan has justifiable won many awards with the VQ series, and that smooth power does speak with affordable and reliable power.

The question should be: what causes "motor knocking" with higher mileage VQs? Like most engines, they require good, clean oil and filters on a regular basis. Take a look at the thread on UOAs being run on VQs that's stickied in the engine section. Poor fuel can also lead to detonation, as many choose to run lower than premium fuel spec'd for the engine.