Notices
Brakes & Suspension 350Z stoppers, coils, shocks/dampers

Tie rod recommendations?

Old 10-15-2017, 10:01 PM
savedbygrace

Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Tie rod recommendations?

Hey gang,

Need to replace my outer tie rods...car is over 110k, lowered on SWIFT Spec R's.

I'm a daily driver that likes a good road like all of us, but never track the car or push it to any handling limit by any means.

Wondering which tie rods to go with?

Found the Phase Two tie rods that can reduce bump steer, but do they make the ride more harsh? Should I just stick to oem?

Do inner tie rods need to be replaced at same time as outer? I hear conflicting reports but trust some of the people who reply here (Terrasmak, MicVilo, among other veterans) so would love their thoughts?

I know I'll need a new alignment after the install, and I plan on doing this myself with the help of a professional mechanic, but any input or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys sincerely,

Saved

Oh...here's the Phase Two tie rods I'm interested in....

https://www.phase2motortrend.com/pro...otrn350-hc.htm

Annndd......the Phase Two allows for lowering the turning radius if you use their inner tie rod....apparently a locking nut is held tight by red thread lock....is that safe and is the increase worth the effort of replacing the inner tie rod? I run 20mm spacers by the way if that helps to know in giving advice or answers to my questions about changing the turning radius. I don't drift...but I like the idea of tighter u-turns for smaller roads.

Last edited by savedbygrace; 10-15-2017 at 10:04 PM.
Old 10-16-2017, 09:33 PM
savedbygrace

come on smart people smarter than me....I need your brain
Old 10-17-2017, 04:03 PM
guitman32

Received 108 Likes on 90 Posts