2003-2009 Nissan 350Z

Manual Vs Auto?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2003, 12:45 AM
KPZerone

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Manual Vs Auto?

Hi Guys,

This is my first posting. I am thinking about getting my first new car next month (August) and Z350 is on my list that I am considering right now.

The question is should I get manual or automatic?

It's shame but I have no prior experience in manual at all. But without manual, I dont think I can fully enjoy the magic of Z! At the same token, I am kinda lazy so I dont wanna shift up and down continuously, especially when I am tired or stuck in traffic..

Which version should I consider? Any tips? Thanks much!
Old 07-30-2003, 01:05 AM
35oZephyR

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is a handful of Z owners who claim that they learned Manual on their Z. I wouldn't recommend this..but it's common.

Generally...the Z has a capable engine...one that wouldn't lack significantly if a potential owner was to choose automatic over manual.

Many people are going to tell you to get manual...i'm a sports car purist so a manual is a must.
It seems like you're someone who likes to cruise and be driven instead of gunning it behind the wheel.
The automatics have to be for somebody right? It really depends where and how you drive your car.

"Magic" or not...if you stick me behind ANY car that is manual i'm going to have a field day with it.
Old 07-30-2003, 02:52 AM
LBSOHK

i learned to drive a manual on my z , and now i dont even think about driving an automatic - its just boring... i live in ny and commute to nj everyday so the traffic is pretty heavy but i enjoy doing something else in my car then just moving my right foot from gas to brake...
Old 07-30-2003, 03:50 AM
marhot

Default Auto...

I agree with 35oZephyR...

First, I would not recommend learning to drive manual on a Z (unless it is someone else’s )