Notices
Audio & Video 350Z Mobile entertainment and other electronics

Wiring/Cables, what kind? brand? what to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2004, 11:31 PM
MY350Z.COM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Wiring/Cables, what kind? brand? what to look for?

Obviously I'm a newb at this stuff.

What cables will I need and what should I get?

JL Audio 300/2 amppifier
Focal 165W components
Don't know what headunit yet, most likely one with DVD and a screen, so I can add on NAV later.

Thanks,
Victor
Old 10-04-2004, 05:03 AM
Zrated

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Use a decent twisted pair or shielded RCA. I used Rockford Fosgate Power Series Twisted pair which are cheap and seem to work fine. I have 0 noise in my system.

I also used StreetWires 12awg twisted speaker wire for everything. Connections to the speakers are soldered, w/ crimped/soldered spades to the X-overs.

Any screw down connections, like speaker wire to the amp, I tinned the wire ends with solder.

One thing, that you may not mind, but would bother me, is if the DVD screen was any lower then the NAV compartment. Something to think about next time your in your car.

Anyway thats my $.02
Old 10-04-2004, 07:44 AM
motown

Ya, what Z said. Buy good RCA interconnects. Monster, Lightning, RF, whatever your fancy. Just don't get the $5 cheap-o's. I use Monster Micro series and am 100% satisfied. Power wire gauge, consult amp's owners manual. Don't get cheap power wire either. Buy good quality copper. The more strands the better. Wire should flex VERY easily in your hands or it's cheap. Z's also right about the screen. If you want to be able to open your Nav. compartment while the radio's on, don't get a flip-up screen or it'll be in the way. 12 awg to the speaker crossovers should be great. If you want to save a buck, use 14 or 16 awg to the speakers from the crossovers. That's what I did for my 2-ways. They sound GREAT, no power loss. Good luck!
Old 10-05-2004, 04:33 AM
LS350Z
Charter Member #56