Notices
Autocross/Road SCCA Solo II, SCCA Club Racing, Redline Track Events, Speed Trial, Speed Ventures, Grand-Am Cup, JGTC, Procar Australia

First timer... autocross over road racing?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2010, 09:49 AM
DoctaC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First timer... autocross over road racing?

Recently I was looking for info here on the boards for road racing at the central florida racing complex: http://cfracingcomplex.com/. I was told the stock Z brakes would have a hard time there, as well as the need for a higher temperature fluid... and experience. This really got me thinking that I really wasn't ready to commit to road racing.

Since I'm a newb with just drag racing experience, is autocross the better choice? Will I need to upgrade anything for my first auto-x event?

Thanks for your time... and I'm excited to get out there one way or another.
Old 01-26-2010, 10:11 AM
steven350

Received 18 Likes on 12 Posts

since its your first time, i say go with the way your car is right now, and push it to its limits, from there, you realize what is needed to help you out.
Old 01-26-2010, 11:32 AM
scotts300
350Z-holic

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

You can do either in a maintained stock vehicle for your first few times. You can/should autox a stock car for at least a year. Once you get more confident with the HPDEs, you'll make a few upgrades.
Old 01-26-2010, 11:43 AM
Parker01

The Z is a brute in stock form... in a good way. In autoX you will experience a ton of understeer due to the tight nature of the sport along with the Z's comfort/everyday road use roll and skinny front tires. Just keep this in mind, look far ahead, know the course and really try to round out your turns to avoid understeer/slipping.